Feast logo

Avocado Smash

Simple to make and half-the-price you would pay at a restaurant!

By Ivory MaxwellPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Avocado smash with runny yolks make it so much better!

I love eating outside to the point that I recently started a blog of places to eat and drink on Long Island. With that said, I also know that my financial means do not give me the ability to eat out all the time. Thankfully, I love cooking as much as dining out so, trying to recreate a delicious dish is something up my alley!

I wanted to start my first post with something delicious and simple yet, if you go out for brunch, it can be pricey. It's the Avocado Smash! I love utilizing organic and locally grown products as much as I can in my cooking. I'm lucky enough to live near a WholeFoods and a Trader Joe's but, also local farms on Long Island.

Many people say avocados are bland tasting but, I think it has a distinct flavor. I, personally, do not like having an avocado aftertaste so I'll add spices to my avocado smash.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 ripe avocado (ripe means the skin has changed color from green to black)
  2. 4 free range eggs
  3. 2 tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar
  4. 1 teaspoon turmeric
  5. 1/3 teaspoon allspice
  6. pinch of salt
  7. pinch of pepper
  8. 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil (I prefer Greek Olive Oil)
  9. pinch of dried red pepper flakes
  10. 4 slices of Ezekiel bread or 2 Ezekiel English Muffins

Instructions:

  1. Bring a pot of water to a boil. Crack the four eggs into separate small bowls or ramekins. Once the water is at a boil, add the apple cider vinegar to the water and stir it around for a few seconds. Reduce the heat to medium low. Here comes the hard part, stir the water to make a small cyclone in the water. Once you see the cyclone swirl in the water, drop one of the eggs into the cyclone. Use a slotted spoon to continue stirring in a circular motion around the egg. The poached egg will start to whiten. I like my eggs on the runnier side so I cook my eggs about 4 minutes. Remove egg from water with slotted spoon and place on paper towel to soak up excess water. Repeat with the other three eggs.
  2. Cut the avocado in half, lengthwise and not across. If you never cut an avocado before, there’s a huge pit in the center. The point is to cut around the pit and not through it. Once you make your first incision into the avocado, you’ll know where the pit is so you’ll just cut around it. Separate the halves. I use a spoon to remove the pit. (I’m not a fan of using the knife to remove the pit, so it’s really up to the individual.) I scoop the avocado halves into a bowl. If your avocado has some browning, I normally remove those parts, others eat those parts too. Up to user discretion.
  3. I add the olive oil, the turmeric, allspice, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to the avocado. Here’s the fun part, using spoon or fork, mash and stir up the avocado. I mash and stir until it’s slightly creamy but still has small chunks.
  4. Toast up the 4 slices of Ezekiel bread or english muffins.
  5. Spread the avocado mash evenly between the four slices or bread. Add the poached eggs on top of each slice of bread with avocado mash. Sprinkle with some salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Drizzle a little olive oil.
  6. Serve immediately.

This serves two people, with two slices each. Normally, I do an avocado half per individual. Avocados are great for you and have healthy fats that your body needs but, you have to be mindful of what you intake on a daily basis. I don’t recommend one avocado per individual.

I’ve heard people utilizing avocados for more sweet than savory meals. They would replace all the spices and olive oil with just honey and a pinch of salt. I haven’t tried it but, it sounds fabulous! If you tried it, let me know how it tastes! I’m also open to hearing from you guys about other avocado smash recipes.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Ivory Maxwell

Creative here! Finding a safe haven to write tidbits of stories, I hope to self-publish one day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Ivory Maxwell is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.