Feast logo

As Big as Your Head

Denver, Colorado

By Katharine NovakPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
https://mccoysrestaurant.business.site

I can't remember the first time I came here, but it became a staple when I was 16 or 17. I had two friends that were reading Harry Potter the same time as me, we were a little late to the craze, but at least we read them before the movies came out! Anyway, we would go to McCoy's late at night and read out loud to each other. That's how I read the first two books. In a horseshoe booth at a 24 hour diner right off the freeway.

Years later, never missing a beat, I spent the start of my 21st birthday there. One of the friends from the Harry Potter table reads and the guy I was seeing at the time sat in the back area where the bar is and started the night out slow. To be fair I was a seasoned drinker by this time so it was really no big deal. I think I was in bed before midnight that night.

Since then, it has became a favorite of my aunt and nephews as well. They love the battered mushrooms! As does my partner and step son. When asked, my partner said that his favorite thing there is the Reuben. I love the cinnamon rolls. They are drenched in frosting, which truth be told I take a lot of it off, but appreciate that they don't skimp. They are quite literally as big as your head!

I have no idea when they opened. I can't find an established date anywhere, but I have been going there now for 25 years. It’s chef owned and it’s always a great group of servers. I have never had bad service there, nor have I ever had to send back food or disliked what I got. It's not flashy, but it's a staple to North Denver.

The most recent meal spent at McCoy's was just last week when a cousin of my partners came into town. It was packed, and we had a 6 top. The cousin and my partner shared the salmon, I had a chef salad, my step son had fish and chips, we ordered of course the mushrooms, and fried zucchini. They are quick to refill an already large soda and do a nice hot tea display.

The next thing I think I will try, which is crazy that I never have, is the McCoy's Original Butch Cassidy sandwich. Thin sliced house-roasted beef, melted cheese and mild green chilies on grilled parmesan sourdough. Yum!

My aunt has now passed and my nephew never fails to get a little teary eyed when he orders the mushrooms. I have introduced three generations to McCoy's and a Londoner. Especially in the time of Covid, I am so thankful that their doors are still open. Even if it is no longer 24 hours. With Denver having changed so much in the last 5 years it is nice to have something still around that means so much to me and feels so much like home.

If heaven is a place you get to regroup with loved ones, then it would be at 4855 Federal Blvd, Denver, CO 80221 that I sit at a large table with some of my favorite people and the cinnamon roll would be as big as the table.

An update... they have been open since 1988. I knew I would find it eventually. The picture I posted for this is of the original hand painted sign that still hangs proudly out front. Also, quite coincidentally they are running a contest to win $500 if you write a review. Funny how things work out.

I recommend it highly if you want a place that will have something for everybody, even a Bloody Mary, and is super low key and just right outside Metro Denver.

https://www.mccoysfamilyrestaurant.com

restaurants
2

About the Creator

Katharine Novak

Multi-hyphenate Colorado native.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.