Feast logo

An Ode To Dot

The Maker Of The Pretzel That Stole My Heart

By Ashley KoeppPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Dear Mrs.Dot,

I have been inspired to write you this letter in hopes that you may one day understand what you have done.

It was just an average day, foraging for treats at my local grocery store. Up until this day, pretzels weren't really on my radar. Not that I didn't like them, I just found other, more flavorable options, more exciting. So there I was, strolling down the aisle, struggling with my decision to pick up either a bag of potato chips, or perhaps some kettle corn, when a sweet sweet darling angel of recommendations came rolling up behind me in her motorized grocery cart and asked if I could please help her by getting a bag of "Dot's" pretzels down for her.

This was the first time I paid any attention to your masterpiece.....so ignorant of me. But this day was different. I grabbed the bag as directed and turned to hand it to that precious lady, when she said to me "I'll let you in on a secret." Obviously, nothing was more important in this moment than the next thing that was about to come out of her mouth. Brimming with anticipation, I urged her to continue. She declared "These....are THE BEST pretzels you will ever have in your life!"

Knowing she had captivated me and my appetite in that moment, she went on to tell me how she first tried them on a whim years prior, and has never looked back. I saw myself in her eyes, imagining what my life would become, who I would become now that I was entering a long-term relationship with Dot's Homestyle Pretzels.

I excitedly grabbed a bag for myself, inspecting it to make sure I got the best looking one (they all look the same, technically) and assured the preztel fairy of aisle 5 that I would also be purchasing a bag of 'Dots' today and ended our encounter with a "thank you ever so much, can I help you with any more of your shopping?" Partly because she could clearly be a new trusted advisor and partly because I have a soft spot for our senior population, especially when they are so kind.

So I made it all the way home, 5 minutes around the corner from the grocery store to my house, successfully resisting a premature sampling in the car. The time finally came to bust it open, and experience for myself what the old wise woman had described.

A giant woft of buttery garlic goodness tap danced on my nostril holes as I opened the bag. I reached in, going for the kill. Normally I am a handful-grab-type-of-snacker, but I knew I needed to give these morsels more individualized attention. I carefully, somewhat hesitantly plucked one pretzel stick out of the depths, and popped it into my salivating mouth.

Now I have to admit, at first, I was almost offended at how overwhelming the flavor was! It punched me right in the kisser... the salty, savory, almost spicy depths of flavor dinged around as a chewed, until a wave of pepper,garlic, buttery goodness melted over my tongue and cheeks. The adrenaline was pumping, my pupils dialated, zeroing in on my prey. My appetite ravenous, I took several sticks this next grab.

Standing there alone in my kitchen, alone yet in such good company, I devoured my next mouthfulls. Several minutes had passed, and my beloved boyfriend had become concerned, as usually not that much time goes by without a peep from me. He came to check on me from the other room only to be met by a pretzel demon, cheeks full, crumbs everywhere, digging around in the already half eaten bag. I was hooked.....

When you love someone, you want the best for them, so I believe. So I offered him a try even though secretly I wanted every stick to myself, of course. A shocked and delighted expression wooshed accross his face as he obsorbed the delicious delicasies. I knew then, they were going to be a part of the family.

Not a day, week, or dare I say month has gone by that there has not been a bag of your infamous Homestyle Pretzels in our pantry since that fateful day. They are now a staple in our home. In my mind, they are in a category of their own in the food pyramid. They are there for me when I just need a quick grab n go munchy, when I can't sleep and want company while watching a late night murder mystery, before dinner when I am cooking but just can't wait to eat the meal being prepared, on vacation, in the bathtub....you get the idea.

What I am meaning to say to you, Mrs. Dot, is thank you. What you have done, is touched my tastebuds in a way that no one ever has. You have, through layers of seasoning, trials of baking and tests of ingrediants, along with sheer will and I am SURE, heaping spoonfulls of love, transformed the basic pretzel snack into an event! A party in your mouth! And I am forever grateful to you and everyone who makes these divine little flavor poppors of delight possible.

Forever and Always Your Faithful Customer,

Ashley

product review
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.