Feast logo

All things Cheesecake

My ultimate go to

By shallon gregersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

“I am pregnant, and my cravings are REAL!!”

“I need to devour it.”

“I need each and every taste bud on my tongue, exploding with excitement.”

“I need CHEESECAKE!”

These thoughts ran through my brain.

“My goodness babe, how much do you need?”

“You have been eating cheesecake like it’s the only thing left on planet Earth to eat,” said my husband.

“Oh oops!”

“Did I say that out loud?”

“Sometimes my thoughts are accidentally spoken, verbally. Sorry.”

I mumbled.

When it comes to food, my thoughts can never be stuck inside my head. Every word gets vocalized. Sometimes it’s rather embarrassing! But honestly, we all have that one food, that one dessert, that makes our mouths water. Even making us drool! My mouth waters for cheesecake. And I will tell you why!

It started with my pregnancies. I had typical weird cravings; cheese, peanut butter and jelly, but one day, something inside of me shouted, “CHEESECAKE!” It was like my gut, or intuition, was throwing cheesecake at me. It was everywhere! On the television commercials, in every magazine I picked up, the signs were all over! So I decided, I needed to do it! I drove to the local Smith's grocery store. Five months pregnant, and on the hunt. I stalked up and down every aisle. Looking for any and all things cheesecake.

Premade, I had to have it! So, I threw it in my cart. Next up, the make it from scratch kind. Down the baking aisle I strolled. Graham cracker pie crust? YES! One, two… you know what let’s make it five! Boom! In the cart they went! I sort of went a bit overboard and thought I needed the entire aisle. I had never made cheesecake! I knew I needed cream cheese. So I continued on my mission, halting my cart at the dairy section. This Philadelphia cream cheese is calling my name! I thought to myself! Ten, yes ten packages of cream cheese, was soon to be all mine. I wanted many flavors! So I returned to the baking isle and grabbed toppings, food flavors and made my way to the fresh produce. Picking up strawberries and cherries. My mission was soon over, as soon as I paid. The purchase was successful and I returned home with my bags and bags of deliciousness.

“Uhm, babe, I thought you went grocery shopping?” Said my confused husband.

“Oh yes!”

“I went grocery shopping!”

“Can’t you see all the bags?” I said sarcastically.

“All I see is cheesecake…” said my confused husband.

“Your eyes are not lying.”

“That is all I got!”

“Because that is all I can think about!”

“Cheesecake.” I said with a smile.

I began opening my premade boxes first. I ate an entire strawberry swirl cheesecake, to myself! Record time too! Thirteen minutes, and the cheesecake was in my belly! That was the most fulfilling moment. My happiness was pouring out of my body.

The next day, I wanted to try to make my own cheesecake. But I sat there in my kitchen. Staring at the ingredients. It was like those old western movies, where the two cowboys are about to have a shoot off. That is, until my husband walked into the kitchen and distracted me.

My husband so sweetly asked, “ Babe, I know you need some cheesecake, how about I make it for you, would you like that?”

I jumped, well if you want to call it jumping, I couldn’t get much air, so I looked as if I was twitching up and down. I nodded and smiled. He let me go nap, and I awoke a couple hours later. And I’m sure you guessed what was on my mind. CHEESECAKE!!! My husband and I ate this yummy creation he made for me. It was the best cheesecake I had ever tasted!

To this day, my husband, six kids, and myself eat cheesecake every other night! We always make time for it. I ate it with every pregnancy, and it’s our reminder of the family love and bond we all have and share. We may not always get along, but one thing we can all agree on is.. dessert time.

I truly hope this tradition of ours can continue on with each of my children. I have realized something so simple like cheesecake, not only delicious, but it has brought our family together and reminded us, to be thankful and grateful for each other. Family is sacred, and mine is as sweet as a piece of good ol’ cheesecake

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

shallon gregerson

I conspire, create and love making my mind think

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.