Feast logo

Accident Free Zone

The freedom to choose

By Bree BeadmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Unsplash - YS

When your favourite foods turn toxic overnight, it takes a special group of people to help you trust again. A once great lover of crustaceans, seafood and sushi were my comforts when the world grew dark, but now even the lightest touch could be my downfall. Everywhere where I turned, corruptions in the form of cross-contamination spewed forth and even seemingly unrelated substances became off limits. Who would have thought pizza or Caesar salads would harbour traces of shellfish in their ingredients?

I set out to find safe places to share in a delicious meal, but each time I stepped beyond the blandest of options, I found myself hurried to the hospital. Over and over I was forced to feel the merciful jab of the EpiPen and the steroids slide down my throat. After so many unfortunate accidents and countless hours of observation, I feared that for the rest of my life I would never enjoy a meal that left me feeling fresh and satisfied. That was until I met them.

As I was walking past our local Barry’s Fish Market a glimmering fillet caught my eye. It sat so far away from the shellfish on the shelf. I wondered, would they clean the cutting table and knives if I told them my sorrowful tale. Could I trust their answer? I had been burned before. There was only one way to find out.

“Excuse me,” I whispered, clearing my throat, “I’d like to try some sashimi, but I’m severely allergic to shellfish and I’d rather not die today. Could you possibly clean before cutting to lower the risk.”

For the first time I saw someone behind the counter take me seriously. She outlined their safety procedures around changing the gloves and cleaning after every time a new food was cut on the back counter, but promised to give everything an extra clean and grab gloves from the back room as well. She seemed confident and, after a hospital free night of revelling in delicious sashimi, I understood why. There was nothing to fear.

Each time I returned her infectious smile and kind words welcomed me home. With every visit my confidence grew. I had finally found it, an accident free zone. Somewhere I could safely acquire the foods I loved, free from fear. From there my world expanded, an endless array of dining options lay before my feet.

Because of its location and the staff’s willingness to always add ice to the bag, I could take my meal anywhere. The inspiration for a series of makeshift restaurants sat in the palm of my hand.

My daughters and I were once again able to follow up our toy library adventures with a sushi date in the sun. We would order their little packs and drinks at the local Sushi Hub, while I would get mine from Barry’s, able to relax knowing we would all be safe together. Seeing their excitement at the treat’s return to their lives meant the world to me.

An old date night favourite, which had a one point been a staple of our relationship, was also restored. The ‘Mad Mex burrito for one, sushi for the other’ combo we had lost faith in once again became a source of fond memories. Sitting across from each other at the table, enjoying our favourite meals as we talked and stared at the stars brought a renewed sense of relaxation to the little times we were able to share alone together.

Even just the option, to sit at home and eat something that makes me feel good after a stressful day of teaching made such a difference. Sometimes you just need to treat yourself with something safe, familiar and fresh to feel good about an otherwise taxing time.

I cannot express enough the gratitude I have for the staff at Barry’s Fish Market for their warmth, professionalism and commitment to the quality of their food and safety of their customers. I know from my time of trials, not everywhere has the same standards, and their effort changed my life.

Whatever the industry, it takes a special group of people to give someone their life back, so thank you Barry’s Fish Market for the life you returned to me.

healthy
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.