Feast logo

A Thai Snack For Super Bowl

Mom's Crispy Thai Chicken Spring Rolls

By Leona ValentinePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

Who loves to eat during Game Day? How can you not eat during Game Day? It is like going to see a movie at a theatre. How can you not consume a snack or a beverage while being entertained? Same thing with watching your favorite team playing against other teams. Or seeing how other teams are doing in the current NFL season. There is always an urge to eat whether it is a full meal or some junk food. There are meals like pizza, hoagies, tacos and even spaghetti. And then, you have the most popular snacks like popcorn, pretzels, potato chips, and my personal favorite, nachos. Those are the usual meals or snacks on Game Days.

However, I would like to talk about the Super Bowl. We all know that the Super Bowl is, beyond a shadow of a doubt, one of the biggest events of the year. Probably, THE biggest event of the year to many people. Choosing a specific snack for the Super Bowl, I want it to be different. I also want it to be special. Therefore, I would like to talk about a snack that I enjoy eating. It is Crispy Thai Chicken Spring Rolls.

This Crispy Thai Chicken Spring Rolls I would like to talk about is homemade. This delicious snack is one of the best spring rolls I have ever tasted. Also, I would like to add that my mom has been making these for years, and I cannot get enough of them. Originally, she made them with pork. Eventually, she decided to substitute them with chicken. Now, you do not come across chicken spring rolls every day. She would share these spring rolls with other family members, friends, co-workers and even neighbors; and I will mention that other family members have no knowledge of the recipe that she came up with. Thanks to her, the recipe can be pass down from generation to generation. So, when I make these spring rolls for the Super Bowl, I normally make one hundred of them – even if there are plenty left over.

Let us talk about the condiments to dip our spring rolls in. We always have a variety of condiments with our spring rolls. The ones we use (and recommend) are Spicy Brown Mustard, Yellow Mustard, La Choy Soy Sauce, and my personal favorite, Mae Ploy Sweet Chilli Sauce. The other condiments I can do without but I refuse, and I mean, refuse to eat the springs rolls without Mae Ploy Sweet Chilli Sauce. I will say that condiments are optional. Any condiments anyone can choose to use really. What you dip your spring rolls in is entirely up to you. Whatever floats your boat.

Now, what about the drinks? I usually drink water during Game Day. I know – nothing exciting there. What can I say? I need more water in my life to stay healthy. But for the Super Bowl, I have to really enjoy myself once in a while. The drinks I have are Coke and Sprite. Oh wait, it gets better. I like to have my favorite wine, and that is Stella Rosa – preferably Rosso flavored.

Ground Chicken - $21.96

Cabbage - $2.46

Carrots - $1.49

Onions - $2.56

Eggs - $2.49

Black Pepper - $1.99

Himalayan Sea Salt - $5.69

Peanut Oil - $4.99

4 Package (25 per package) of Egg Roll Wrappers (Spring Home brand but any brand will do) - $9.96

Any brand of Bean Thread Noodles (sometimes called cellophane noodles) - $2.89

Spicy Brown Mustard (Any brand) - $1.79

Yellow Mustard - $1.79

Soy Sauce (La Choy brand but any brand will do) - $2.59

Mae Ploy Sweet Chilli Sauce (Mae Ploy brand but any brand will do) - $1.96

2 Liter Coke - $2.39

2 Liter Sprite - $2.39

A bottle of Stella Rosa (Rosso flavored) - 10.95

Enjoying Crispy Thai Chicken Spring Rolls with the best drinks while watching the Super Bowl – Priceless

There you have it. The Crispy Thai Chicken Spring Rolls are the snacks I enjoy eating for the Super Bowl. Also, if you notice. I did not mention how much I usually put in. That is a secret I rather not share.

cuisine
3

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.