Feast logo

A Little Bit Of England

In Our Backyard

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Duke On Park- British Pub

Welcome Cathy and Bill,

How was your day? Would you like to sit in your usual spot?

Why thank you Ashley, we would love to.

“ Could I get you drinks from the bar?” Then the rhythm of beers she has on tap. Never missing one and has a great recommendation.

We have been frquent customers in the last few years, Tuesday night - the best fish and crisps you have ever eaten. The music is amazing and we always have a great time. It’s like a home away from home. The best part of all is sitting outside and enjoying such a wonderful atmosphere. Also it is only a block away from our home, a nice walk.

We have got to know some regular customers that come in as well. Such a friendly place and the food is amazing.

Once and awhile we order their hamburgers, they are so large you can barely put them in your mouth. Bill and I try to squish it ,flatten it, to put in our mouths. Thank goodness for the pubs and their bibs. We are such a classy couple, we always have a great time. I am laughing as I write this.

Just Like Home

When we go to the pub, I often think of the show Cheers. “Hi Norm!”

In this case it’s , “Hi Bill and Cathy.”

Nice Lunches To

Several of my pals and I have stopped in for a wee cup of tea. Now that is really good tea, much like our breakfast style. They make amazing club house sandwiches and homemade soup. Now I won’t get started on the pastries.

We have had a few Christmas parties. The last time, all of the staff were getting involved. Several took our phones and took pictures for us.

We all brought a pair of Christmas socks and filled them up with gifts totally $30.00. It looked pretty decorative with all the socks lined up on the bar. Each pair of socks had a number on it, you pick a number at the end of the night, the gifts are yours.

Guess which socks I came home in?

We all ate different things and for some reason, I personally stuck to my usual dish. Fish and crisps.

Yummy

The girls were laughing, we sang with the musicians. The staff were right in there having such a wonderful time. Many of the porters are going to University ,and they work hard earning their tips. We get to know them personally.

One young lady Naiomi that was waiting on us ,had a pair of reindeer ears on her head. I gave her my light up Christmas tie and she started dancing with us to. It’s like one big happy family.

You could feel Christmas all around the pub, lots of laughter and everyone was so happy. I like to tell everyone about the British Pub, everyone needs to enjoy the lovely customer service, food like you were over in Britain. If we can’t travel overseas than we can walk around the block and have a great time.

Now look at a few of my friends and their circle of love ❤️

No Ugly Sweater Contests For Us

Memories of many good times. Three years ago I booked the party room for my friends Birthday, From PEI.

It was awesome. People came and went, the food was amazing but most importantly, my friend had a great Birthday and made so many memories.

All around the pub, day or night, your guaranteed to have a wonderful meal.

So have a great night and stop by soon, tell them Bill and Cathy sent you. You will get the best seats in the house. Cheers.

Squish That Burger Billy

cuisine
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.