Feast logo

80's Baby Drinks Deep

Summer is for soda

By Heidi Beth SadlerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
80's Baby Drinks Deep
Photo by Qasim Malick on Unsplash

The parched throat of an elementary school kid is no minor crisis. It feels like death. A painful, lingering kind that the adults just don’t understand. I can testify to the severity of the situation. The glory of a summer day can be destroyed when a little girl is dying of thirst. Her parents will definitely hear about it. I know mine did.

“I’m dying,” I remember declaring during a short hike in the Mt. St. Helens area. The sunbaked terrain felt like I was climbing a massive volcano. Too hot. Thirsty. Need a drink now. More specifically, a cold soda. I really was dying! Can’t anyone see my suffering?

Okay, I admit to being a dramatic child, and not much has changed. I am a dramatic adult, and I continue my passionate love of beverages, whether they are hot or cold, summer or winter. Give me the drinks!

By Food Photographer phototastyfood.ru on Unsplash

My beverage obsession, especially a nice cold soda, started in the late eighties. I was an elementary school kid, loving neon colors and Bubble Tape commercials. I especially loved that Michael J. Fox commercial where his rolled-up photo of a Pepsi® turns into a fizzy drink. Amazing! Whether it was the sticky, freezer-infused taste of a cheap popsicle in its plastic sheath, or the over-sweetened tang of a homemade lemonade stand, I was a child on the hunt for refreshment.

Well, what do you know? One magical day, I became aware of a place that shared my affinity for iced beverages, specifically diet pop. A store where you will never find yourself thirsty again. A true oasis. Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the AmPm® mini mart located inside the Arco gas station. Here, you could purchase a 32-ounce, refillable cup. An entire pound of soda for minimal expense. And not only could the cup hold a solid thirty-two ounces, but it brandished the nickname “Thirsty-Two.” Clever, clever, indeed. Plus, the cups came in gorgeous shades of neon (affinity previously noted). Does it get any better than this?

By Alexandra Nosova on Unsplash

When I finally had my opportunity to purchase my Thirsty-Two ouncer, I chose a cup in brilliant yellow hue, and I cherished it. Granted, like most childhood treasures, I couldn’t tell you where it ended up, but for that one summer, that neon yellow vessel was one of my most beloved items. That summer, the squirt bottle and I journeyed to Yakima where our family floated down the river inner tubes with childhood friends. So many good memories, in part, due to AmPm® and their beautiful soda campaign.

In case you can’t tell, I must confess a life-long addiction to diet soda. I often kept a 2-liter by my bed in college. I can consume a 12-pack in two days. My summers working at Denny’s and Applebee’s® were fueled by their soda machines. Yes, friends, I have serious aspartame/saccharin issues. And thanks to places like McDonald’s and their $1 for any size fountain drink, what was once a summer fascination can be enjoyed all year long by adults who don’t know how to drink plain water.

Am I proud of my soda addiction? No. Will I try to drink more water? Yes. Do I know that diet soda is supposedly worse than regular soda? I’ve heard it all, friends. But there is something about a sweltering day and the harmonious fizz of carbonation meeting ice. Add a generous straw to go along with it, and you have a wonderful product. When I think of summer, there’s a cold soda pop to go along with it. And so, it is with great fondness for that Thirsty-Two campaign that I offer my heartfelt salute. My hats off to dopamine mules like AmPm® for instilling a deep love of fountain drinks in the heart of a dramatic kid like me.

By James Day on Unsplash

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Heidi Beth Sadler

I am a wild violinist & visual artist in Portland, OR. I co-front world-folk rock band Chasing Ebenezer with my husband Benjamin. I paint in the spirit of pointillism and textured art. I love writing and am so grateful you visited my page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gary Schwarz2 years ago

    I love your memories and your soda pop too! Multumesc Fanta!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.