Feast logo

7 Recipes for Summer Self-Lovin'

My Personal Food, Drink, and Activity 'Self-Love' Summer Guide

By FloraPublished 2 years ago β€’ 13 min read
Top Story - June 2022
5
7 Recipes for Summer Self-Lovin'
Photo by Kenta Kikuchi on Unsplash

SUMMER IS FINALLY HERE!

I don't know about you, but my winter and spring have had some dark times. Like 'almost got bangs when I don't have a bangs face' type of dark.

I quit a toxic job that was sucking the life out of me and I ventured into the world of contract work for music and writing. It has been liberating and exciting to do what I am most passionate about. But don't get me wrong–many days can be filled with wrestling with self-doubt and wondering if I am on the right path. I am working from home, and for a social extrovert, the lack of socializing takes a huge hit on my energy, self-esteem, and overall mental health. It's been difficult, yet rewarding in ways I didn't expect. Lots of alone time has given me time to process the past few years and begin to confront the things I have been pushing away.

It's been tough BUT with the summer weather lifting my spirits, it is time to regroup, recharge, and have the most delish summer ever.

It's Time For Summer Lovin' Baby!

Here are my 7 Recipes for Summer Self-Lovin' that I want to TREAT MYSELF to during the next few months. And I hope you can too.

Recipe One: A NIGHT TO YOURSELF

For some it's ordering take-out and browsing TikTok for hours. For some, it's a night of binge-watching a new or beloved show with your favorite snack. We need to take care of ourselves because if the tank is empty, there is less to give to others.

What it Looks Like For Me: A Spa Day.

I only do these once every three months or so. I get a pedicure in a salon, and then go home and have a bath and watch a movie in bed. I love getting nails done with friends, but every once in a while it's nice to go by yourself, close your eyes, and just breathe. It's a perfect summer activity cause then I can show off my new polish in cute sandals as the weather gets warmer each day.

Food/Drink: A bottle of White Zinfandel and Homemade Kettlecorn.

Sweet (almost juice-like) wines are perfect for summer. And paired with a sweet popcorn... MWAH DELICIOUS! This is a go-to for a 'me' night. And yes, drink the whole bottle and eat an entire family-sized bowl of popcorn. You deserve it.

This is the recipe I use, but OF COURSE, I double it. I have a Whirley Pop which makes this recipe super easy. A regular pot works as well, just make sure it is the largest you have and you keep shaking the pot so it doesn't burn.

Secret Ingredient Recommendation: 'Queer Eye' on Netflix.

I can not recommend this show enough. It is ALL ABOUT learning to take care of yourself and instilling in others the power to take control of your life. If you are worried it is "too extra" or "not for me" ... well.... watch an episode before you judge it. In fact, getting to know someone before you judge them is one of the most reoccurring themes of the show. It brings so much joy into my life and everyone I know who has watched it. We all need to be kinder to ourselves and each other, and this show has helped me be less self-deprecating and realize self-care isn't selfish. 10/10

Recipe Two: HAVE A PARTY

For some, it's dressing up and hitting a club with friends to dance all night. For some, it's a backyard barbeque party with other parents with the kids running around. Sometimes you need to let loose, lose control, and have some intentional fun with your friends in order to keep going.

What it Looks Like For Me: A Standup House Party.

My friend hosts a Standup Party a few times a year. Our next one is coming in a few weeks and I CAN NOT WAIT. We all bring some sort of food and a bottle of liquor and hang out for a few hours first (to get liquid courage). People prepare sets, and anyone who wants to perform standup comedy can. Some people do three minutes, some do twenty-three minutes. We mix drinks, eat food, talk, laugh, and make fools of ourselves. Then we just keep the party going until people sleep on the ground or get an Uber home.

Food/Drink: Gin and Spinach Dip.

I am a G&T gal. I often bring a bottle of gin for people to make drinks with and some sort of dip to inhale. Dips are always great for parties, and spinach dip is nice and light for summer vibes.

This is the recipe I use. It has a few extra ingredients that make it extra special and makes the dish more than an average spinach dip at the party. It definitely is a crowd-pleaser.

Secret Ingredient Recommendation: Multiple dippers.

If you bring a few different things to dip in, more people can enjoy it. I bring a baguette, a gluten-free cracker, and tortillas. Plus, it is fun to try the different combinations.

Recipe Three: FAMILY TIME – BLOOD OR CHOSEN

Family is important. But family can look different for everyone. Some people aren't close with their family, know their real family, or live close to their family. It can be hard for those who want to be closer to their family but can't because of religion, sexuality, distance, disfunction, or even death. That is when chosen family comes in. You lift each other up and take care of each other, and in return, can take better care of yourself.

What it Looks Like For Me: A week at my Great Aunt's Cottage

My immediate family lives across the country, but my great Aunt and Uncle live in Toronto, like me. During the summers, they leave Toronto and go to their cottage for the summer months. Every summer they invite my boyfriend and me to stay at their guest cottage on their property. We get to spend time with family, hear about my grandmother who I never knew, and hear stories about my mom when she was young. It has been such a beautiful way to get to know the family I never knew. I truly view them as my own grandparents and look forward to the week we spend at the cottage with them every year. We bring groceries to share meals and swim, read, nap and talk. It is paradise.

Food/Drink: Cran & Soda and Charcuterie.

Maybe it was popular in my Great Aunt's generation, but whenever we go to their condo in the city or the cottage, she always offers Cran & Soda. Which is half cranberry juice and half Ginger Ale, filled with ice. Although it seems outdated, it is really refreshing and perfect for a lakeside sip. Sometimes she substitutes prosecco for the soda, and that's when it gets really fun at the cottage. I also try to bring some cheese and meat and make some sort of board that people can snack on throughout the day.

Here is a recipe I have used for inspiration. I also put veggies and fruits along with meat, cheese, pickles, and crackers. Definitely great for a grab-and-go lake day.

Secret Ingredient Recommendation: A perfect Summer playlist.

A summer playlist can really tie your memories to songs. Certain songs bring me back to different times of my life, and the perfect playlist can bring such euphoria to a summer afternoon. Make one the night before a road trip, a vacation, or a bonfire. It will really set the mood. Here are a few songs that will go on mine:

  1. Cigarette Daydreams by Cage the Elephant
  2. Watermelon Sugar by Harry Styles
  3. Summer Girl by HAIM
  4. Brooklyn in the Summer by Aloe Blacc
  5. Summertime Sadness by Lana Del Rey
  6. Kiss Me by Magic
  7. Cool by Dua Lipa

Recipe Four: GET OUTSIDE

For some it is going to a five-star beach resort, for some, it is camping in the middle of nowhere. But nevertheless, get outside. It is good for your brain. Psychologists claim going outside once a day greatly benefits your mental health and can help combat depression. Even the least nature-loving people can enjoy the sun by going to a vineyard and drinking all afternoon on a bug-proof screened patio.

What it Looks Like For Me: A Walk and a Picnic.

I live in Toronto, so 'real hiking' isn't as prevalent in comparison to the Rocky Mountains where I went to University. But there are tons of lovely tree-studded trails and parks that make me forget I am in the biggest Canadian city for a moment. My boyfriend and I love packing a picnic, sitting on a bench in the shade, and enjoying the blip of nature in our concrete jungle.

Food/Drink: Jar Sangria, Sandwiches, and Veggies.

Sandwiches are so simple, yet you can make them as bougey as you'd like. You can go for the classic meat/cheese/lettuce, or you can make egg salad on rye or a grilled veggie cream cheese baguette. But the jar sangria is key. Since it is in a jar, no one knows how much wine you are packing. And the fresh fruit and soda make this such a fresh summer drink for a lovely park stroll. (Plus lots and lots and lots of water.)

I am a white wine lady, so this is a go-to for me. I don't use the brandy and often pick a juice. The key elements are wine, fruit, soda, and maybe juice. You really can't go wrong.

Secret Ingredient Recommendation: Splurging on a picnic basket rather than a backpack can really make your moment magical. Wicker ones last forever. The one I used as a child was the same one my parents got on their honeymoon. It is fun with friends or a date, and it really makes a memory.

Recipe Five: MUSIC, MOVIES, BOOKS

This may seem like a given, but it is so fun to consume new entertainment that is released during a season. For some, it's seeing a movie they have been waiting to come out since Christmas. For some, it is seeing a band that is on tour. For some, it is finding that perfect beach read. But it is fun to treat yourself to a book or a movie and have it be a part of your summer memories. Sharing new experiences with those you love brightens your days and is a way of showing that you care about your enjoyment and your community.

What it Looks Like For Me: Concerts.

Music is a huge love of mine. I went to school for music. I write music. I play music. Concerts have always been something I really look forward to. Especially summer festivals that are outside and all weekend. With covid, I haven't seen a live musical performance in two and a half years. I have tickets to a few live shows this summer and can't wait to dance with my friends and sing along.

Food/Drink: Beer and Pasta.

Pregaming is key for concerts. You don't want to be hungry at a concert. Going out for dinner and drinks before a concert is a great way to save money at the venue and not have to dip out and miss a song. I have a tendency to drink a lot at a concert, so a pasta restaurant is always a good bet for me before a night of drinking.

Secret Ingredient Recommendation: La Fenice in Toronto

This gem is in the Entertainment District and close to many concert venues. They have great portions, good prices, and a great atmosphere. My favorite pasta dish is their Rigatoni Bolognese. Delish.

Recipe Six: ADULTING

This may seem like the most boring way of self-care for your summer, but it is truly essential. For some, it's buying a new outfit for work. For some, it's cleaning out your cupboards and organizing them in a better way. For some, it is meal prepping and planning so that your week is less stressful.

What it Looks Like For Me: Working out.

The gym at my condo building has been closed for over a year with covid. And with brutal Toronto winters, it can be hard to get moving. It has been nice to slowly ease back into better eating and gitting the treadmill.

Food/Drink: Post Work-Out Smoothie

This is a smoothie recipe I have melded into my own creation after looking at a few different workout blogs. Some health smoothies are not that tasty. But this one is actually delicious and full of summery flavors such as blueberries and coconut. It was inspired by a smoothie that Will Smith drinks on the daily, supposedly. (I found by coincidence while browsing on a random dietician's blog, not knowing he was a client.) But I substituted a few things I couldn't find at my local health food store.

Blueberry Spinach Smoothie – Serves 1

  • 1 Cup frozen Blueberries
  • 1/2 Cup fresh Spinach
  • 1/2 Cup Coconut Water
  • 1/2 Cup Choice of Milk
  • 2 Tablespoons of Hempseeds
  • 1 Tablespoon of minced Ginger
  • 1 teaspoon m MCT oil (can be found in most health grocery stores)
  • 1 spoon of protein powder

Secret Ingredient Recommendation: 'Pinch of Yum' Food Blog

Finding a health food blog that makes ACTUAL yummy food can motivate you to cook more often and find recipes that nourish your body and welcome self-love. The better you feel internally, the more you will externally.

Recipe Seven: GET ROMANTIC AND INTIMATE

Finding out what you like is so important. Getting to know your body, and what intimacy is for you is such a celebration of self-love and self-expression. For some, it is reading poetry or erotic novels. For some, it is having a magical hook-up with someone you've been into for a while. For some, it is getting to know your body and using a toy to help you out. For some, intimacy and romance don't include touching but would include sharing something vulnerable with a friend and knowing there is safety and trust amongst them.

What it Looks Like For Me: Date night.

My boyfriend has a really busy job. It is hard to find time together during the week. And for him, as an introvert, most weeknights he needs time to himself in order to get through the week. So Saturdays we reserve a date day. We are creatures of habit and seem to do a similarly shaped date each week. It includes getting coffee, going to a bookstore to buy a book, walking and talking, then either going out for dinner and watching a movie at home or making dinner at home and going out for a movie. This keeps our relationship in check and is a form of self-love as you love on your partner. The better I feel about myself, the better my relationship is. The better my relationship is, the better I feel about myself.

Food/Drink: Moscow Mules and Rosemary Peach Chicken in a White Wine Pan Sauce.

I don't know why, but Moscow Mules are one of the freshes drinks, in my opinion. And having fruit in your hot evening dish SCREAMS SUMMER! This recipe is a summer go-to for moi.

The warm peaches melt in your mouth and the chicken is tender and full of flavor.

Secret Ingredient Recommendation: Schedule Romance.

I know it sounds un-sexy to schedule romance. But when life gets busy, and jobs, kids, and personal lives take over, it is nice to have a constant time to check-in. If that is a date night with your partner, a sexy night with yourself, or a once-a-week Tinder date, letting yourself feel sexy is so important.

LET'S MAKE SUMMER 2022 THE MOST DELISHLY SELF-LOVIN' YET

Comment with your recipe for a perfect summer. What meals, drinks, and activities make you focus on the love you have for yourself, and your community around you? Take time for yourself and the people that mean the most to you this summer. And enjoy!

list
5

About the Creator

Flora

π’―π‘œπ“‡π‘œπ“ƒπ“‰π‘œ-π’·π’Άπ“ˆπ‘’π’Ή W𝓇𝒾𝓉𝑒𝓇

π•—π•šπ•”π•₯π•šπ• π•Ÿ, 𝕑𝕠𝕖π•₯𝕣π•ͺ, π•’π•Ÿπ•• π•™π•¦π•žπ• π•¦π•£

@κœ°ΚŸα΄Κ€α΄€κœ±.α΄€α΄œΚ€α΄€

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.