Feast logo

6 Honest Thoughts I had In The First 10 Days Of Going Vegan

#4 Will my entire life be dedicated to Chopping Veggies?

By Rashmi GPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2
6 Honest Thoughts I had In The First 10 Days Of Going Vegan
Photo by Juno Jo on Unsplash

It was a life decision made in just 5 minutes - to become Vegan.

Now I believe how people fall in love at first sight. Atleast, going vegan is good for the planet. Last week, I was watching George Carlin’s video on saving the Planet.

I felt like a hypocrite. I love animals, I feed dogs and cats, I help with getting them neutered, tend to their injuries. I have been a volunteer for years.

Yet, I ate chicken everyday for my protein count and addicted to it. Not to miss my famous Kerala prawn curry that gets prepared thrice a week Or my obsession with the glorious mutton biryani mom prepares specially for me.

I had read enough about the horrific workings of the dairy industry and how cows are tortured. But moment I see a bowl of curd, I forget all of that and only focus on the salad I can make to accompany the chicken biryani.

But not this time.

The trick was to go vegan but also keep a watch on my macros.

The result - It's goddamn difficult.

Here Are 6 thoughts on how I feel during the 10 days of my vegan journey:

#1 Yay, This Is For The Planet

Honestly, being guilt-free is the best feeling.

Every time I cross the butcher shop, I feel pity but also a relief that I m not supporting this.

I can call myself a true animal lover at last. And I don't miss frying fish for lunch somehow. It feels like that urge to eat meat or fish has been muted.

Surprisingly, I like it!

#2 My South Indian Roots Would Make Veganism Super Easy

South Indian (vegetarian) diet has less of dairy, cream and a lots and lots of veggies. Also coconut milk finds a place in a lot of curries, which is a winner non-dairy milk.

Think tamarind-based curries, mixed rice recipes, pulses based recipes, coconut milk added kurma. Chickpeas already occupies a stellar spot in Indian cuisine and I felt happy.

But curd turned out to most difficult one to stay away from. Curd rice with potato fry is my comfort food and giving it up was hard.

I am trying my hand at cashew curd and peanut curd to disastrous results.

But I am trying to perfect this art.

#3 Woah, I can't eat A single Thing In A Cafe

Cookies, Pretzels, Muffins, Cupcakes, French Toast, Pancakes, Carrot cakes, croissants - All the food I love and ordered without a second thought didn't qualify as vegan.

By Melissa Walker Horn on Unsplash

I can't even go to tea shop in my street for my favourite ginger tea!

I had to think twice before I ordered anything.

India is yet to open to a vegan-friendly approach everywhere. We do have pure vegetarian places but I need to keep my vegan detector on. Every.Single.Time.

The best bet- Cook them myself.

Well, my sad oatmeal pancakes with oats milk and flax eggs I prepared earlier today doesn’t offer much encouragement.

#4 Will my entire life be dedicated to Chopping Veggies?

One advantage of cooking meat was that the recipes needed only onions, tomatoes and garlic to be chopped. And a chicken pasta maybe needs broccoli or bell peppers. Simple. And leave it to cheese and butter to do the magic!

I also drank my veggies in form of a beetroot-carrot-spinach smoothie.

Now, I was spending a good half-an-hour chopping bitter gourd, beans, carrot, ladysfinger aside from the onions and tomatoes - whew!

And surprisingly, the dish tasted so fresh and good.

Are my taste buds working better or is this a hallucination of missing chicken? No idea.

Now, I realise why our mothers are angry when we refuse to eat veggies. They spent hours just chopping them!

#5 Can You Spot The Glow, Folks?

One major reason which I made me go vegan (which I have no shame in admitting) was the “vegan glow”. I believe this diet will help me age gracefully while shining like an influencer.

I use very less makeup ( due to my sensitive skin) and my best best is the DIY face packs and the skin glow smoothies I drink.

So, Did I get my 20 something youthfulness in my 31 year old face in 10 days?

I asked my colleagues, my sister and my boyfriend over a video call. They said yes.

I do suspect it was to keep me from nagging them anymore.

But yes, I feel light and do feel the glow!

#6 Someone Please Save Me From The Cravings

None of the articles I had read, prepared me for the first three days.

I relaxed my macros counting and decided to eat whatever vegan food I felt like.

The result was devouring peanut butter-chocolate ice cream, veggie burgers, vegetable biryani, gobi manchurian, Thai vegan curry and a lot of combinations straight out of a bad dream (never ever mix cashew with coconut milk and makes ice creams, please!).

I was basically sampling vegan takeaways from all the restaurants near me.

Honestly, I did not like half of them.

But I couldn't stop. Maybe it was my body's own shock in knowing that this girl is not kidding or a reaction to giving up non-vegetarian.

But I am happy I gave into my cravings.

The next three days, I gradually transitioned to eating homemade foods and today, I started quantifying my food.

Final Thoughts

Most people I've met who weren't kind to animals weren't kind to people either. Kindness is kindness. Simple as that. - Ricky Gervais

Veganism is not just a diet, it’s a lifestyle change. And it’s a unique experience. Our genetics, food habits, culture, peers all play a major role in this transition.

It’s not easy. Run away from people who say so.

What I am also clear is I don’t want to transition from the dairy industry to almond milk industry and call myself a vegan.

I am going to keep it as homemade and healthy as possible. I am okay with making a tonnes of mistakes but I want to make these curds, the cakes all from scratch.

Lets admit it, being good for the planet apart, knowing what I put in my plate is something I want to be in control of.

And don’t forget the vegan glow!

vegan
2

About the Creator

Rashmi G

Fascinated by topics on mind, astronomy and self-growth

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Life Lesson2 years ago

    🧡Another evidence of growing old gracefully being vegan!🧡

  • I didn't make it I can't go completely big and I've cut down on red meat a lot cuz I need to but I like red meat more than candy when I was a kid I just couldn't make it so you might call me a vegetarian cuz I only need a steak once a month

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.