Feast logo

5 Delicious Vegetarian Meals

These dishes are so good that you won't even miss the meat!

By Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Delicious stuffed romano peppers!

Whilst I'm always tempted to add bacon to any vegetarian dish I make, I'm aware of how much meat I eat, and sometimes cheese alone can hit that salty spot for me! This post could easily be an homage to fromage, but I've included a cheese-free recipe that was delicious!

Most of these dishes can be cooked up in less than 15 minutes and make for an easy lunch; the peppers take longer as they need to be roasted for at least 20 minutes.

So, it's time for you to enjoy my tried and tested vegetarian recipes!

I have to ensure my ingredients are low-FODMAP and in line with my food intolerances, but if you don't have dietary restrictions, you can amend these recipes to suit your personal tastes!

1. Feta and Mushroom Gnocchi

The feta is an amazing addition to this dish!

A meal that's ready in less than 10 minutes! What's not to love? Fresh or cupboard-stable gnocchi generally only needs 2-3 minutes in boiling water, and then you can add in your extras. I added the cooked gnocchi to a frying pan with butter before adding some rinsed, canned mushrooms and a generous helping of feta cheese and herbs. The contrast between the mellow gnocchi, the earthy mushrooms and the tangy feta is amazing!

2. Super Cheesy Tomato Pappardelle

More than enough cheese to please!

What's more comforting than a load of cheese and pasta? ⁣

I cooked the pappardelle for 12 mins, whilst pan frying chopped plum tomatoes with a splash of balsamic vinegar and my favourite herbs. I added some of the pasta water to the pan, and threw in more mozzarella than I care to admit to. This made a beautiful base for me to mix the pappardelle into. If I had any bacon or blue cheese, you bet that would've been in there too.

This would also have been delightful (and healthier) with some chopped broccoli heads. ⁣

⁣ I topped the pasta with even more mozzarella and served. It was delicious!

3. Stuffed Sweet Red Peppers

This dish was so pretty, and delicious to boot! I stuffed romano peppers with kale, mozzarella and blue cheese, then roasted them for 25 mins at 180 degrees Centigrade. Before serving, I topped them with some crisps to add a nice crunch, as roasted peppers are very soft.

I air-fried the sweet potato fries for 18 minutes, and they were amazing! I'm far too lazy to make sweet potato fries from scratch, so these were from the freezer.

I'd recommend adding more cheese than you think you need, especially if you're cooking with mozzarella as a lot of it is water and it cooks down so much!

4. Halloumi and Veg Pasta

The wholegrain mustard adds a lovely flavour to this dish.

This dish came about when I had lots of leftover veg to use up in the fridge, and is perfect for using up leftovers. It's a great meal that only takes 15 minutes to create.

I cooked the conchigliette (baby shell pasta, so cute), which took about 10 minutes. While that was cooking, I stir fried tomatoes, peppers, green beans and courgette ribbons. The ribbons are easy to make using a potato peeler, and they come out great!

I added the halloumi to the pan, ensuring it was touching the pan to get a nice colour to it. To finish, I mixed wholegrain mustard in with the veg, and plated it all up. It was yummy!

5. Colourful Potato Salad

Buttery potatoes are just perfect!

Boiled potatoes crushed with butter, with tomatoes, frozen green beans, pan-fried kale and grated fennel. And a lovely poached egg from the fridge section at my local supermarket (told you I was lazy) with some fresh chives. A super tasty lunch!

I boiled the potatoes until they were soft. I added the beans to the boiling water for a couple of minutes to get them cooked before adding them to the frying pan, to which I added kale, chives and fennel. The poached egg went into to the boiling water for a couple of minutes. I crushed the potatoes and added them to the bowl with some butter before adding the rest of the ingredients.I added some chopped fresh chives on top with some salt and pepper.

As you can see, the colours were beautiful! The tangy tomatoes with the buttery yolk and potatoes were a great flavour combination.

Bonus oozy yolk pic!

That's it for these egg-cellent veggie dishes!

I hope these tasty vegetarian recipes inspire you to leave meat out occasionally, and that you enjoy cooking and eating these delicious dishes!

You can find more from me on Instagram @fodmapfeasts - hope to see you there. Victoria :)

cuisine
1

About the Creator

Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)

Everything from tasty low-FODMAP recipes, to album reviews, to mental health topics.

You can follow me on IG for more delicious recipes: https://www.instagram.com/fodmapfeasts/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.