Feast logo

5 Cheap, Healthy Recipes for When That Fast Food Craving Hits

Anyone trying to cut back on fast food knows the struggle. Let's Explore our Options.

By Cat RicheyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
5 Cheap, Healthy Recipes for When That Fast Food Craving Hits
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

If you're like me, fast food is life. It's just too good to ignore! But I know I need to be healthier with my food choices. I actively have been trying to lose weight, and fast food is 100% not helping me achieve my goals. So what happens when I do get that fast food craving? Well, I've scoured the internet and found these 5 tasty recipes that help me kick those cravings to the curb!

This first recipe is one that I go to for when I'm in more of a "snack-y" mood. You know, the one where you kinda just want some popcorn chicken and dip and not a full blown meal? This recipe is perfect for those moods, and healthier than getting them from Sonic (my personal choice for popcorn chicken) to boot!

For this next recipe, I tend to use it as a double-whammy on my cravings. My mom used to cook Stuffed Bell Peppers on a regular basis, so not only is it some good ol' Tex-Mex, but it also tickles that comfort food part of my brain. If you give this recipe a shot, I highly recommend adding a dash of red pepper flakes for a little extra kick!

Now, because I just absolutely adore Mexican and Tex-Mex foods so very much... I'm adding a recipe for some amazing Chicken Fajitas. This recipe is really simple and easy to spruce up (if you want to) however you want. It's also great for if you've got guests! (Please note that at the time of writing this article, I highly recommend NOT having guests over due to the global Covid pandemic. Please stay safe!)

While I could continue sharing some of my favorite Tex-Mex recipes... I'm not going to. Instead, I'll share this recipe for some Beef and Broccoli, because I'll be honest, the lure of Chinese food is strong and if there's a healthy at-home alternative, you better believe I'm taking it! This dish is best served with fried rice (easy to make, here's a recipe you can follow, but be aware that the easiest way to make Fried Rice is by using some left-over white rice, microwaved mixed veggies, and soy sauce) and there's a few ideas I've found to add to the recipe that I'm going to suggest real quick:

  • You can use any Beef product that isn't ground. I personally like to use standard Beef tips (or "Stew Meat" as I've also heard it called) as a cheaper alternative, but it's completely up to you and your wallet!
  • The fresh ginger, while it helps and is great for tons of other recipes, isn't necessary and can be substituted with a little ground ginger powder instead if you don't plan to cook with ginger very often.
  • It's 100% ok to do a mixed soy sauce solution where 3/4 is the low sodium option and the rest is the regular option. I personally find this adds to the overall flavor, so if you can give it a shot, go for it!
  • If you can, I highly suggest adding 2 tbsp. of Hoisin Sauce. It really adds that extra little oomph that Take-Out Chinese food has, meaning you get that great flavor, just in a healthier version!

And finally, last but not least... I don't think anything can replace the mighty Cheeseburger (or classic Hamburger, if you don't like cheesy goodness on yours!) and this list would probably never be complete with a recipe for one you can make at home. This recipe suggests using a whole wheat English Muffin as the bun, but truth be told, you can use any bread. Whole wheat is always the healthier option, but for the sake of money, use whatever you have already if you want to!

Those are my go-to recipes for when that Fast-Food craving hits me, and I love them for this exact purpose. Food Addicts like me, especially those of us that have gotten too used to the ease of fast-food, already have a hard time with quitting that lifestyle. In my own experience, these recipes are helping me break the habit. I genuinely hope they help you as well, whether you are on a weight loss journey like me, or if you simply want to start eating healthier in general. If any of these recipes have been what you need, please give this a like and share it with your friends/family! Thank you!

healthy
1

About the Creator

Cat Richey

Hi! My name is Cat. I plan to post stories once a week and the occasional poem. I live in beautiful North Carolina (moved here from Texas), will be 25 in January, am a proud pet-mom to a kitty named Chai and a gentle giant of a dog, Dakota.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.