Families logo

Why'd It Take Me So Long To See?

Introducing You To This Incredible Man... My Father

By Staci TroiloPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2022
23
My Dad... My Hero

We all change as we get older. Yet we all have core values and personality traits that define us from early in life.

My dad is a good man. One of the best I ever met. And he’s always been that way. That hasn’t changed, and it never will.

Obviously, I have no first-hand knowledge of who he was as a kid. Just stories he and my mom tell. I tend to believe he was the life of the party—not only because those stories are pretty funny, but because he was voted class vice president. Believe me, it had nothing to do with his “political” ambitions. He got that title purely on popularity.

Mom was the quiet one in school. Dad most assuredly wasn’t.

I don’t know when that changed. But by the time I was born, their personalities had kind of flipped. At family parties, my mother would be chatting with her sister and mother, and my dad just kind of hung out with the men. There was more grilling and sports-watching than there was talking among the guys.

So, I grew up thinking my dad was quiet and reserved. Don’t get me wrong, he was always good-natured and quick with a joke. (Almost exclusively horrible jokes, but they amused him, which made us laugh.) But I mostly saw him as the strong-but-silent type. By the time he got home from work, I had very little time with him before bed, and my mother did all the talking.

What I now realize is she needed to vent about her day with the hellions—er, kids—and he needed to put his workday behind him. That’s probably one of the many reasons they’re such a good match for each other. They balance each other out. Always have.

I learned what a good marriage looks like from them. And I tried to pattern mine after theirs.

Proud Family Man Trying to Stay Composed at His 50th Wedding Anniversary Party

The day I got married, I was perfectly calm. I was getting exactly what (who) I wanted, and I couldn’t wait to start my new life with my husband. The flowers came in wrong, the cars were late, and my hair was an unmitigated disaster. But none of it fazed me. My mom kept waiting for me to have a meltdown, but I was steady. Totally unaffected by any and every problem.

As Dad and I stood in the back of the church, waiting for them to open the doors for us to walk down the aisle, I was all smiles. I could see my groom waiting for me, and I couldn’t wait to join him at the altar. Couldn’t wait to join him in life.

Then I heard a sniffle.

I looked at my father. He was misty-eyed. I’d only ever seen him tear up at a funeral, and then it was when he thought he was alone. What was happening?

My strong, silent father was losing his composure. In public. Because of me.

I clutched his arm desperately. He held me up as I cried the whole way down the aisle.

Not because I was sad or having second thoughts. It was just that I finally realized it was the end of an era. I wasn’t going to be his little girl anymore. Dad was, in more than one manner, giving me away.

Always There for Me

After twenty-four years of marriage, during which I tried to follow my parents’ example, my husband called it quits. It was a total surprise to me. I suppose I should have seen the signs. But when you trust someone completely, you believe their lies and make excuses for their odd behavior.

It was a moment of complete devastation and weakness on my part. So, of course, I ran home.

Dad met me at the airport.

Someone needed to pick up the pieces of my shattered life, and of course I expected my dad to do it.

And, of course, he did.

Not me. Not my mom. My dad. My strong, silent father who “gave me away” to a man who vowed to take care of me forever and broke that promise in the most disgusting and vile way possible. And just like he had in the back of the church twenty-four years earlier, it was my dad who offered his arm and held me up when I most needed support.

My dad, who was once again misty-eyed. In public. Because of me.

I could give you my father’s dossier—high school graduate, U.S. Navy veteran, devoted family man, good Catholic. He’s early for everything, good-spirited to a fault, clumsy, a bad joke-teller, a worse movie-chooser. This is a man who teaches by example. A man who’s always willing to listen, always happy to help, always has a ready smile or a shoulder to cry on.

But that only tells you what he is. It doesn’t tell you who he is.

With His Navy Buddies (Back Row, Far Left)

I never learned who he truly was until I was finally on my own, no longer under his roof or my husband’s. That’s when I realized Dad never gave me away. He never gives away anyone he loves. He never gives up, never gives in. He’s solid, steady, strong.

My dad is many things. And he’s my hero.

parents
23

About the Creator

Staci Troilo

Staci's love for writing is only surpassed by her love for family and friends, and that relationship-centric focus is featured in her work, regardless of the genre she's currently immersed in. https://stacitroilo.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is a beautiful tribute. Well done.

  • Jacquie Biggar2 years ago

    You made me search for tissues, thanks for that (sniffle). This is a beautiful tribute to your handsome, kind, and caring father. I lost mine several years ago and miss him every day, so this touched home for me.

  • Mae Clair2 years ago

    Staci, this was wonderful. Thank you for sharing your father in this beautifully moving piece. You are truly blessed to have such a wonderful parent.

  • Gwen Plano2 years ago

    Beautiful share, Staci. As I read, similar memories surfaced for me, especially walking down the aisle. Thank you for this lovely story. 💗

  • Harmony Kent2 years ago

    Staci, this is so beautiful, heartfelt, and moving. You’ve shown us so wonderfully who your dad is. Thank you for sharing this lovely piece. Hugs, Harmony 💕🙂

  • D.L. Finn2 years ago

    This is so beautiful, Staci :) I feel like I know him now. You had the father many could only dream of.

  • Beem Weeks2 years ago

    What a beautiful and insightful look at your father, Staci. You tell his story with such love. Thank you for sharing this piece of your soul with us.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    I'm sure I'm not the only woman crying, wishing my dad had been like that. I'm so happy that for you he is such a good man. Thank you for sharing your story <3

  • Jan Sikes2 years ago

    Oh my goodness, Staci! This is so beautifully written and I now feel like I have a personal relationship with your dad. What a wonderful thing in life to have him for a father.

  • CS Boyack2 years ago

    Wonderful story, Staci.

  • Joan Hall2 years ago

    Staci, this brings tears to my eyes. "He never gave me away." A dad is always there, especially when we need them the most.

  • Mark Graham2 years ago

    Loved your story. Your story reminds me of my dad and mom. I miss them so much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.