Families logo

To my Family: You are my Heroes

A Fairy Tale Family

By Lady Sherry-Anne Dow PodolchukPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Fairy Tale Family

Everyone has their matrix, a system that we operate in and makes us content. Mine is my family, our dynamics are joyful and interactions memorable. My first memories are of love and enrichment I am who I am today because of them. We discussed politics science and the humanities, we played board games that gave us examples of how the world is and loved each other through it. We grew up in Canada, went to school and work, programming values for my life along the way. My family are my heroes that honor today with this story. My family is a strength for me to emulate and to be as such myself. I always have good conversations with them and get great advice that through all my follies I have now learned to listen to. My follies needed their attentions and they were there for me. I have had mental wellness issues my whole life and when my Mother passed away, it got serious. I required doctor’s care and had to learn what was real and what was not. My family was there for me. My family forgave me and seen my potential rather than an illness and gave me a chance to shine. They supported me emotionally by talking about their experiences and opinions; they supported me financially by providing shelter when I was out of work and even into when I got established myself again; and they forgave me my follies that were many in number great in delinquency, they seen my mental wellness improve and blessed me with the confidence that is my driving force to work and succeed. My parents worked jobs to bring us stability and struggled with their own issues along the way, no matter how much money was coming into the house, work ethic stayed important and it instilled a sense of duty that I carry today. Even in my worst of times I aspired to be financially successful, a comfort that in the fog of mental wellness issues you remain yourself and not the imagination of illness. I like to call on a regular basis to my family and they accommodate by having the lovely conversations that they do, they also supported me when I got my fur baby and say I love you’s to my kitty Tinkerbell that gives her a well-rounded nurture time with them, my family is always there for us. My parents and brother and his partner and their children and grandchildren, and my Kitty are the reasons that I strive to be an expert in success. My family’s professional accomplishments are mechanic, corrections officer, business experts and homemaker, they represent the heart of our society and I wanted to showcase them with my story, they are humble and care about the world around them such as our many social issues. Now that their accomplishments are out for the world to see there will be love to them and that is my gift, we have a beautiful life, I like to call it our little life that in reality is pretty large. I know that they have had their own path less takes which is a poem by Robert Frost about making choice that mean you have to work at it and will get there with pride and an intricate weaving of intent. Our fairy tale is one that will be spoken by many and respected by many. We as a family group have survived many issues such as financial issues to the passing of a loved one, we are the family that gives a helping hand to our neighbor, know us to love us, many blessings.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lady Sherry-Anne Dow Podolchuk

Grew up in Canada with a very loving family and studied in business and science and I have always loved writing. I hope you enjoy my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.