Families logo

The Tale of Two Bunnies

Write the vision...make it plain

By Nakia PalmerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
The Tale of Two Bunnies
Photo by Keisha Montfleury on Unsplash

The Significance of Two's

Before you get to the heart of this story, let me first tell you that it is not at all about bunnies. At least, not entirely! I used them here as a reference form for literary symbolism! Largely in part because outside of my window today, I literally saw TWO BROWN BUNNIES!

Photo credit: https://www.pdsa.org.uk/taking-care-of-your-pet/looking-after-your-pet/rabbits/how-to-help-your-bunnies-bond

"Hmmm!" I thought! Not in the entire sixteen months of living here have I ever seen one bunny, let alone two; however, my neighbors had witnessed them often, crossing my yard at night...in the dark! This time, it was I that saw them, two of them, during the day! Extremely significant for me! And I have to tell you that when things show up in two's, or three's, I always pay attention! For those of you who are not aware of the significance of seeing multiples, I will share that represents duality, balance, tact, kindness, and of course partnership.

The relevancy of rabbits was not understood by me at first, so I ran to my computer with the hope of finding meaning behind their appearance and representation in my life. Of course, the google search engine was lit ablaze by me searching for rabbits. I typed in "rabbits + appearance in yard meaning; multiple rabbit sightings meaning; rabbits sightings by day, etcetera!" In return, I received words like abundance, prosperity, and good luck. I don't know about you, but those were excellent words to see at the start of my day!

Beyond that though, I discovered that maybe the two rabbits crossed my path to signal to me, for a moment, to remember that I am not only one creative being, but that there are two of us! That's right, I am a twin, and we both share a creative stroke of genius in rare form and like no one else!

Summer 1986

Elementary school play circa Fall of 1992.

My dad, stepmother, younger sister, and us! (1996

The Truth

The best way that I can describe our connection is to have you think of Matt and Ross Duffer, the creators and writers of the hit Netflix series, Stranger Things! But of course, there are others, like Allen and Albert Hughes, Jen and Sylvia Soska, Mark and Michael Polish to name a few. The list of twin writers/screenwriters/filmmakers is not that extensive, but it does exist. And I am saying that the dynamic of two minds working as one proves to be an explosive, composite phenomenon all by itself.

"Ever since I harnessed a love for writing, I have kept small journals/diaries from my youth through today! They are filled with visions for commercials, plays, books, movie scripts, etc. You name it and I have probably formulated some type of unofficial manuscript for it! Literally, it's truly a gift that, I presume was birthed into me while still in my mother's womb...something that I am truly appreciative of and thankful for.

A compilation of things written over the last few years!

And as for my twin sister, all I have to say is Neo said it best in the Make Me Better song by Fabolous when he said:

"I'm a movement by myself, but I'm a force when we're together!"

Yes, friend, I know that Neo was speaking of his lady, but just flow with me and apply that same thought process to the actual makings of beautiful works of art generated by a duo, dynamic pairing--us!

(Circa 2020) (L to R) Keke and Nikki (me)

Retrospectively, the pandemic really forced us all into our homes for an unprecedented amount of time. Movie theatres closed and, I will be the first to tell you, there wasn't anyone getting dressed up to go anywhere! Think live concerts, plays, restaurants, and museums to name a few were all either closed or nonexistent during that time. Many of us had to figure out who we are at our core, reinvent ourselves and get to know our significant others, and families all over again.

Being forced into a massive lockdown also caused a lot of us to rethink careers, goals and reconsider the things that we consider to be most important like family, friendships, and time! I believe that due to the significant loss of life, we were also gifted with the courage to truly take gambles on ourselves through the use of our own natural talents, and abilities. I believe that those were/are the real reasons we were put here and that that is where the epitome of happiness and living out the American dream now resides.

I have found that utilizing all of my talents, especially in writing, helps to ignite true emotion, passion, and change in others. I aspire to put together showpieces, plays that will evoke the rawest, purest emotion in human form available...not to mention lots of laughter. After all, following the kind of year that we've all endured, laughter is what we need most, don't you think?

December 2020 paint party with our mother, stepfather, and family.

How Memberful Can Help

Memberful would provide us a platform base that will be used to advertise and sell memberships to interested persons/parties. It is my intent to invite them to journey along with us as we put together one-act plays that can be accessed directly from the comfort of your home at scheduled, set times each month and perhaps bigger productions quarterly. It would afford families a different way to connect via watching live performances that engage various topics regarding life, love, relationships, and trials. It could serve as a basis for approaching tougher subjects with teens and assist in setting a softer, more relaxed ambiance for an in-home date night! Not to mention that the visibility would allow premium talent a different way of being recognized and gain momentum in the arts arena, and afford my sister and me the opportunity to continue efforts in perfecting the skills and talents given to us by way of writing and storytelling.

Having a Memberful platform would also help us optimize our potential in gaining and reaching larger audiences. Truly, it would the beginning of a dream come true to help two sisters get a chance and a real start at doing something that we love and know we were born to do--WRITE. There are so many stories that need and deserve to be told...and it all starts here! Couple that with grit, determination, and imagination, and you have a recipe for success!

siblings

About the Creator

Nakia Palmer

I am an avid writer and reader. I enjoy life and manage to creatively intertwine my life experiences in most things that I write. It's therapeutic! I am thankful for all of my gifts, creative energy, and you. Thank you for reading my work!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nakia PalmerWritten by Nakia Palmer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.