Families logo

The Epitome of Old is Young in a New Way

-I have a few homes-

By Jay,when I writePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Epitome of Old is Young in a New Way
Photo by Hillshire Farm on Unsplash

Whenever I am here,

I know the birds are singing for me

I know my bed will welcome my outline

A state of mind within another

Because my heart cries for the past me that was here

And my mouth smiles because I finally returned

Steady now.

Don’t underestimate the feelings that’ll arise

When you see your sisters run to the door

Tall now

Too tall for comfort.

There are these colors, and pictures

Outgrown?

You haven’t outgrown anything, just ran far

To get nowhere in particular

A meal, old clothes, a picture you’d wish to toss but,

don’t you dare.

I go home when I visit America

I go home when I visit my mother’s

Home, where my pockets are emptied

Many men hold their hands out there

Like my sisters at the door,

Waiting for a gift

I smile,

Because I can hear the birds singing

And I’m back again,

Waiting to leave

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.