Families logo

Six Signs You Are Married To The Right Person

To find Miss Right you have to be Mr Right

By Adam EvansonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Six Signs You Are Married To The Right Person
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Having got things wrong a time or two in choosing a life partner, hopefully this time I've got it right. In some ways, it can be a bit of a lottery wether or not you make the right choice. However, with more than a little forethought, it is possible to swing the odds vey much in a favourable direction.

Now here I am, married for the third time and its working out a treat. Of course I have often wondered what is different about this one? Why does this relationship work where the others didn't? Here are a few of the answers I have come up with. It is not a complete list, but it's a good place to start.

1.I think one of the most important signs is if you and your partner are willing to fit round each other. In my case I moved continents and underwent a complete change in lifestyle. It hasn't been easy nor inexpensive, but I felt she was more than worth all the effort.

2.I also think it is super important that you and your partner show willing to do without something so that the other doesn't have to. Again, in my own case, I have given up a great deal in terms my job and career, physical contact with my family and friends and a settled life where I was living before. I have tried to bend to her ways and those of a totally different culture and society. For her part my lovely wife gave up her independence and living well within her financial comfort zone to accommodate the necessary changes for both of us.

3.Another thing I find essential is that each partner is prepared to give the other the time and space to be themselves. More than that, it's really important that each partner does everything they can to support the other's needs and desires.My wife has gone the extra mile, and then some. When I came to Asia from Europe my wife got me fixed up with a complete health check, thank god.All the physical ailments with which I was besieged where resolved post haste with the best medical care on the planet.

To help me to start a new career my wife bought me an Applemac, an Apple smartphone and an Apple iPad. In no time at all I was up and running and now getting the financial benefits for both of us.

4.One really big thing for me is that my partner respects my feelings, as indeed I do hers. In fact, without mutual respect your relationship is going nowhere fast. It is so true that in order to receive first you have to give.If you implement that concept from the get go you are going to spend a very happy time with your partner.

5.Together time is so, so important too. You have to want to be together and actually enjoy that time.It can be cuddling up to watch a movie, even if you have seen it ten times before or it is very far from being your favourite movie. It can even be an afternoon shopping. Much as I hate shopping I go because I know how much it pleases her.

6.Finally, remember, little things mean a lot. My wife quite often spontaneously buys me a new T shirt or a bottle of my favourite wine. For my part I frequently buy her some beautiful flowers and chocolates. I have also bought her a new purse or handbag I know she would not buy for herself.

The important thing is that you get something you know your partner will appreciate, something which shows that you were thinking of them. The positive effect far outweighs any cost or time spent in acquiring the object.

married
Like

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.