Families logo

Past Life

Poem

By GiaPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
Past Life
Photo by Jessica Favaro on Unsplash

Away, away goes the rain.

It tip-taps and clip-claps.

I fall asleep, dreaming about the days where I used to admire the empty hills and plains.

Those were the days...I used to sit under a tree and take a quick nap before my mother called me in for supper.

Where have those days gone? So fast and steady.

I wish to go back to it, my life, which was once peaceful and happy.

What was I thinking? Leaving home so early, thinking I was all set and ready to face the world.

How wrong I was about myself, how I long to see my pappy who was always kind and happy.

Of course, I will never forget my mummy.

Caring, gentle and pretty, what else could I ask for?

Oh, how I was silly I was and yes, quite clumsy indeed!

Yet how patient she was with me, I felt quite loved and cared for.

How can I forgot my great big sissy!

Who I loved to bits and pieces, but she is away now.

I don't get to see her, but I tell you that she is very beautiful, inside and out. She had unforgettably long hair, yes, it was quite silky.

She was an incredible artist, at the sight of her paintings, she would look content to see me say, wow!

I write to her everyday, I'm relieved to know that she is in a happy place.

Oh yes, there is one more, my little puppy, Charlie, who grew up to be so cute and lovable.

I loved the little fella, he used playing around in the fields while I sat and watching him.

Though he was naughty at times, climbing onto the table to steal food before it was time to eat, *giggles*. Yes, in that way, he did cause trouble.

We were best friends, he cuddled with me at night and always made sure I was safe and tight.

I hugged his little body gently, his honey brown coat which I felt was softer than snow.

Alas! Thunder clapped its hands, waking me up from my deep slumber.

I smiled at the thought of my past life, it had turned out better than I had imagined.

How happy I was, I clearly remember.

But, yes, I am still blessed, I cannot deny that.

"Mama! Mama!"

"Puddin? What're you doin here at a time like this?"

"We left earlier but there was lots of traffic and I got scared of the thunder."

"Oh, darlin, you got nothing to worry about, come here."

"Where's your father?"

"He's coming, he's really slow."

"Mhm, indeed he is."

He walked in and asked me,"Hey honey, how are you feeling?"

"Much better."

My little darling is my everything, I love her so very much and pray that she will find uttermost happiness.

As for her father, after everything I've been through, it feels like I only vaguely remember how we met.

But I do know that ever since, he treated me very well and kept me safe.

What happened to me, you ask? I have no clue either, all I know is that my body aches all over.

They say that I was hit by a car.

How careless I am to get myself into such an accident.

After I did get hit, I fell into a deep sleep and for some time, I remember that I could only think about the tunes my father used to play with his guitar.

I supposed it was treasured by my my brain, something that had been in the back of my mind for a long time.

Yes, maybe it was meant to be, I had gotten back into my senses because of this incident.

As for my family, I hope they have not forgotten that I love them dearly.

And I do hope they feel the same way.

siblingsparents
1

About the Creator

Gia

"To gain your voice, you have to forget about having it heard." - Allen Ginsberg

"Stay faithful to the stories in your head." - Paula Hawkins

“I write because I don't know

What I think

Until I read

What I say.” - Mary Flannery O'Connor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.