Families logo

The Dragon Beside Me

My Mother

By GiaPublished 2 months ago β€’ 3 min read
1
(Credit:123rf.com )

My mother, all my life, she's been the one I look up to the most. I guess I'm stating out the obvious, *chuckles* but I guess that's just how I feel.

She's been my role model ever since I can remember.

Through my eyes, she's something different, more special to me. She has the best sense of humor, the best laugh (though it's pretty hard to get her to laugh as much as she makes others laugh) and on top of all, she has always been the most beautiful person in the world to me, inside and out.

Her personality automatically draws anybody who talks to her to like her, I don't know how. It always came to her naturally, though it was pretty hard for me to do the same. Even every pet we had, loved her the most. They followed her everywhere and would always feel uneasy when she was not around. I wouldn't blame them, I too feel a sense of security when she's around.

She knows me the best, better than myself even. She pushes me to try new things which she's sure I can succeed in and because of her, I've developed interests in chess, sketching, playing music and writing. She always tell me to work hard and give my 100% in whatever I do, otherwise she tells me to just not do it.

She's been right in several situations throughout my life. She stood up for me when I couldn't do it myself. She has taught me almost everything I know from subjects in school to important life lessons; kindness, respectfulness and hard work. Whenever I do something wrong or disappoint her, she makes sure I do it right the next time, but the guilt of disappointing her pierces the most.

Even today, she always finds ways to make me laugh and cheer me up when I'm feeling down. Through all the ups and downs, she makes sure that I never give up and always stay humble.

I was mostly an introvert (but selectively extroverted) most of my life.

I was very lonely....

Ha! No, just kidding. Yes, I wasn't (and still am not) good at making friends, I do have friends, infact really sweet ones, but I'm never comfortable enough to rely on them. However, lucky for me, my mother has been my best friend my whole life. Seriously, she's the whole package for "BFF'S FOR LIFE". When she cries, I cry, when I cry, she cries. When she laughs, I laugh, when I laugh, she laughs and....so on.

My mother has a pretty name, Daisy, and according to the dictionary:

"The meaning of a Daisy flower can be purity, innocence, joy and cheerfulness" 🌸🌻🌼

I agree, she represents all of them.

I've seen my mother struggle a lot in many situations but even through those times, she tries to manage and not make a big deal out of it. Even when she's really tired, she doesn't rest until she's finished with all her work and sleeps only when she knows that I'm asleep as well. I feel like she has given her whole life and sacrificed many things to make sure I become independent, and succeed in whatever I'm interested in.

So, in return, I really hope I can take care of her the same way in the future and make her exceptionally proud, satisfied, and happy. I love her very much, I will always appreciate her hard work towards bringing me up and listening to my endless stories and questions which sometimes make no sense at all. She means the world to me and I hope that she keeps that in mind, always.

(Note to all women: You are a wonderful person, I hope you get the rest you need for all the hardwork you've put in to your work/bringing up a well-nurtured and wonderful child/both/etc. Over the years, women have evolved to become strong and independent leaders in society. And to all the mothers out there, being a mother is both the most rewarding and hardest job in the world. Hats off to all your dedication.)

All of ya'll are awesome, keep rocking.

Happy International Women's Day.

parents
1

About the Creator

Gia

"To gain your voice, you have to forget about having it heard." - Allen Ginsberg

"Stay faithful to the stories in your head." - Paula Hawkins

β€œI write because I don't know

What I think

Until I read

What I say.” - Mary Flannery O'Connor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about a month ago

    This was a beautiful tribute to women and mother's everywhere!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.