Families logo

Ordinary but extraordinary father

extraordinary father

By Morr McclamPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I have always wanted to write about my father, but I couldn’t find the right time to describe his "road". This road is not reachable by any car. It is not a concrete stone road, but a section of it. The hard time, under the shroud of that time, was the tuition and miscellaneous expenses of the two young children, and the hard-working rice of that year with the mother carrying a heavy basket. The father came here with the "time machine". But no traveler on the way back was found.

Me and father

My father was born in 1971 and is 49 years old this year. Especially in the past few years, I have seen the white hair growing on my father's head and his rickety thin body. I can hardly see a trace of fat, as if a gust of wind will blow away. This small body still carries the responsibility of the family, a responsibility entrusted by the public. Raising a child to guard against old age requires the son to start a family and establish a business, buy a house and a car for him, so I am still thinking about this matter. force. This life also experienced ups and downs.

When my father was 4 years old, my mother died and he never enjoyed maternal love again, leaving only a brother and sister. In that era, the eldest son of an otherwise not wealthy family was the most favored, and the middle one was basically not able to take care of it, so At that time, he started to support his family. My uncle was enjoying the love of the family. He collected all kinds of money to study medicine, but he was also at the level of soy sauce. The housework and the crops in the field fell on my father, so he grew up. The short, dark-skinned, nonspoken personality was developed at that time, and he just focused on doing his work. With the strong support of my grandmother, my father finally had the opportunity to go to school at the age of 7. There are a lot of things that need to be done every day after school. Feeding pigs and ducks, cooking, picking and lifting the long body is very good, but he didn't complain, just did it.

After three days of fishing and two days of studying and farming, I finally finished elementary school and went to my second aunt’s grandmother’s house to help. The second aunt’s grandmother looked at the 13-year-old child so diligent, so she privately spent money to send my father to my father. The school continued to study, and there was a junior high school life. In fact, it was a half-hearted school. After all, there was so much farm work in the family and the basic elementary school was not good enough. So my father was also powerless and didn't go there after two years of mixing. There is no craftsmanship in the way of survival, and some are hard-working bodies and hearts.

At the age of 23, with the consent of the head of the family, my mother and I got married. They couldn't talk about love. They can only say that they met once. They were separated when they got married. One room, two hoes, and a little field. , The two people began to turn their backs to the yellow land, working hard for the future of the two people. My brother and I were born in this hard yellow land. My father has a new identity in this 23-year-old boy, taking responsibility and family . Under this heavy pressure, the pressure of my grandfather's sudden serious illness was flanked by both sides. I thought that uncle would share the burden together, but he couldn't protect himself outside, and the distant water could not save the nearby fire. This fell on the father who honestly didn't have much. Grandpa was treated for two consecutive years, but he was finally uncurable and left us. Father became an orphan, and here he has only us. My little savings are used to buy pigs and various farm products for my brother and me to go to school. I remember once there was no money for meat at home, and I borrowed money to buy a little cheap fat, which relieved our greed. When I put it in a pot and stewed it, I saw my father looking at it, picking it up, putting it down, and picking it up again. He took a bite involuntarily. How long did he endure the absence of oil and water. How can the adult world be so easy, the father who is burdened by life can't breathe!

Such days still cannot sustain the expenses of two elementary school students. In 2002, my parents chose to go south and went to work in Guangdong. That was the first time we were away from our parents. My brother and I cried at home for two days. Because of this, we became the left-behind children living in the grandfather’s house, and solved the problem of studying. Every time I called my father, he always said: Ye Er, I’m paid, you and your brother must be obedient at home.

In this way, my parents worked outside for ten years, and the few hard labor wages paid for our school expenses every month. In 14 years, my father was working in a factory and unfortunately was crushed by a falling machine and broke his foot. He was hospitalized for three months. Now when he encountered a change of weather, his broken toe was still aching. This was not the biggest pain he experienced. That year, his uncle fell ill and died outside the factory, and there was no one around him. People who really help, can't afford to pay, their feet have not yet recovered, so they can only drag their limping feet to the factory, the hospital, and the management. I felt the grief of losing my loved ones and I had to bear other relatives to carve up the inheritance. When I came back that year, I walked behind my father, followed his back with my eyes and moved forward inch by inch. The limping walk, my With moist eyes, I couldn’t realize the heart of my father at the time, whether it was the helplessness of my relatives, the grief of the loss of my brother, or the powerlessness of myself. I can only follow my father and protect the first man in my life. A man who silently pays for his family.

From then on, my father also seemed to be a different person, his personality became withdrawn, he didn’t believe in others, and even a little mother-in-law. When his stubborn temper came, he would sometimes argue with him. I don’t know what changed him. , Maybe it is the sensitivity and loneliness after many changes, but I want to tell you that we have always been.

This is the 49-year-old life that my father experienced. An ordinary, particularly ordinary person, composed of a touch of happiness, spent every day in small expectations, occasional excitement and silent disappointment. This is me. My father, a father who feeds his family with his hands, is now replacing me to protect your father.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.