Families logo

Open letter to my deceased Brother

You've been on my mind, boy. I miss you so much.

By Vanessa GreerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@some_tale?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Some Tale</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/brother-and-sister?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

The world tries to tell us, 

"The world has its way with things"

 or that

"everything happens for a reason".

I think that it's all just a line of bullshit.

Just about every year around my baby brother's birthday. I go to his Facebook or Meta and I keep updated on the things that are going on. It is very thereputic for me. It's like he is just sitting right there.

See he was only eight months old when our mom just up and died. I was only 14-years old but I knew It would be all of our responsibility to make sure Mark Allen had whatever he needed.

I'm positive that's what my mother would want. She had raised us kids right. But it wan't enough for him. Because when he turned twenty-one he also just up and died.

The coroner told us it was just one of theose freak illnesses that presents a lot of signs that it's just the flu. But as an adult adolescent, the bacteria infection can be deadly. I think that if my mother was alive she would know there was something seriously wrong with him and she would have gotten the help and medicine.

 Dear Baby brother,I guess I could tell you about an exceptional year. About finding a delightful house with an enormous yard. I'm forever partaking and dancing myself dizzy. 

Honey and Cody, the pit bulls we love, are no longer fugitives. They don't have to hide in the house from the cops.

Lindsey is growing so fast. "She's" now becoming a "he". The new little person they're growing to be is much happier. I won't deny what I've seen. with my two eyes. I've realized we've become good friends since you left. 

Clay and our dad are keeping in touch, which is cool. Dad's pretty smart, just a terrible parent. There's so much they could entertain each other with. Oh yeah, I haven't told you. Now Clay's a parent. Yep, can you imagine? My little boy has a little boy of his own.

One he adopted and one natural Drew and Nathaniel. Reminds me of times when you and you were wrestling around with all of your nephews. You all getting into trouble. 

Isn't good and a bit funny I always want to say, cousins. I guess, age, it's just relevant 

Aarin and Ricky just got back from a huge tournament. Aarin came home with the national champ. (This entire line needs to be updated)

Aarin and Ricky are still watching hockey. The annual game is 5 years and running. You know our motto…

Oh, wait. No, I'm so sorry. 

They took away you from us. Far from too early. Even before we bled blue.

 God had a reason too, or someone wanted their way. 

I'm so sorry I can't even say the lie with a straight face.

So, year after year, on no particular day. I update my letter to you. Let you know. You are still in our hearts and we miss you here on Earth. 

Since you haven't asked about me yet. I'll tell you I'm fine, though money is still tight, that's more of the same. Ricky and I are going on year 28. Ewe, I know I can't believe I married a man. Ha, I love you! But I must admit, he kills a mean spider.

I guess this is it, my dear. I think we're all done you're caught. up in the current events in our lives. There's just one more thing, I need to ask you one more thing, dear. Can you please say hi to Mom from all of us you two left behind?

Your Grieving Sister,

VMG

grief
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa Greer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.