Families logo

Navigating the Comedy of Chaos: A Tale of Lockdowns, Homeschooling, and Kidney Dramas.

My Personal Experience

By Philemon Brima KamaraPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
1
Navigating the Comedy of Chaos: A Tale of Lockdowns, Homeschooling, and Kidney Dramas.
Photo by Manuel Peris Tirado on Unsplash

I'm genuinely excited, and you know why? The COVID numbers are going back up. Initially, I was nervous, fearing another lockdown. I can't handle that again. I'm married with two kids… Remember how positive we all were at the beginning of the pandemic? Like, maybe this is God's way of saying we need to be around the people we love…. I felt that way for about two hours, and then I was like, "I got to get out of here. I'll take my chances with COVID. It's a lot, man.

Homeschooling, anyone else had to do that? I mean, did you all see my grades in school? I am not qualified for this…. I had to homeschool, and I didn't like it. At the time, my kids were going to a private school, so I had to pay the school to homeschool… It was a little confusing because I've never had a pimp before, so I was like, "Yo, I don't really like this. COVID was rough. Shout out to every couple that made it through. It doesn't matter how long you've been together or how much you love each other; at some point during COVID, you hated them…. I knew my wife hated me when she told me I breathed too much. I didn't even know that was a thing….. It's like, how do you breathe too much? We were just watching a movie, and she was looking at me like, "Why do you breathe so much?" I was like, "I'm trying not to die. What do you want from me?

I've been watching TV like crazy, so much on TV. Saw this thing on the news about a guy needing a kidney transplant. He couldn't find a match on the donor's list—no family, no friends. Finally, at the 11th hour, he found out his wife was a perfect match. She gave him a kidney, and he's doing great. My wife and I were like, "Wow, that's crazy, right?" Then she goes, "I hope nothing like that ever happens to you…. She was cool about it, saying, "But if it does, I pray that I can be the one to give you a kidney." I was like, "That's sweet, but I would rather die. Can you imagine your wife giving you a kidney and then using it against you in arguments?

It was rough. Trying to be tough, telling her to take the kidney back—I don't need it. No, I don't need no kidney. I'm fine without it. Get out of here. It was a struggle, man. Watching a lot of TV, and one of my Favorites was Game of Thrones. My wife had never seen it, so I was like, "Perfect, we can watch this together." Then she questions the authenticity of the show. In an episode, a woman walks into fire, and three dragon eggs hatch. My wife deadpanned, "Man, that's fake. I was like, "Really? That's the part that bothered you? Not the dragons walking around? But here we are, having a good time. This is what we need right now, to come together and enjoy ourselves. Don't believe what the news says; they're trying to make us feel so divided. We're not that divided. If we can laugh together, we can live together.

marriedsocial mediachildrenartadvice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.