Families logo

My Superwoman

My Mommy

By Ronisha GarciaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Not all foster kids get properly treated when being placed in homes. Many kids don’t ever get the love a parent should give a child. Often times foster kids don’t get to experience what it feels like to be comfortable. At any time, you can end up being somewhere new in a house full of strangers all over again. All the fears I had while being a foster child kept disappearing the older, I became. If every child in the system could receive the love and happiness my mom gave me, I know this world would be a better place.

My mom is the most hardworking person I know. I don’t know anyone who would take in 5 kids all around the same age, keep them together and love them as her own. She had already raised her own kids and at a young age I didn’t understand why she would want to take on more responsibility. At a certain point in my life I stopped questioning her actions and started to except them. Days where we would run her crazy, she still gave us the same love as if it was her first day bringing us home. There was not ever a day in my life where my mom didn’t make us feel like we were all worth fighting for.

There were plenty of days when I was young where I thought I was missing out on my birth parents, that they had a good life without me. Then I realized I wasn’t missing out on them they were missing out on me. The best day of my life was when we went to court and my mom adopted all of us. I felt like I won the lottery. Not only was I getting to stay with the best mom ever, but I had siblings that would be mines too. I didn’t care if we were different ethnicities, they were my sisters and brothers and I had a place to call home.

I would not be the woman I am today if it was not for my mom. My mom has taught me to love myself when I felt like nobody loved me. She raised me to never be scared to take chances and to never allow anyone to make me feel less of a queen. I am the best soldier, wife, and mother because of how she raised me. My mom inspires me to be better than the person I was than the day before and to always put one hundred percent into what I love. I wish I could give my mom the world like she gave me. Words can never truly describe how grateful I am for having her in my life.

Life is something I can never take for granted. I’ve learned to always appreciate even the little things in life. Not every kid in the system will be able to experience the love that I was able to encounter. Some will be in households that abuse them and even force them to become great actors in front of social workers when their being mistreated. I wish every kid can know that there is enough love out there for them to be loved the way my mom loved me. My mom will never understand how much I appreciate how good she treated all of us.

When I look at some of the friends, I grew up with that were in foster care their stories always made me appreciate my life so much better. Sometimes I wish my mom could’ve took care of all of them. My mom was like superwoman in my eyes, but I knew she couldn’t save every child the way that she saved us. At least I knew by just them meeting her that they felt loved and never had to be scared to be a kid. There is nothing about my mom I would change because exactly who she is today will always be the person I will need tomorrow.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Ronisha Garcia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.