Families logo

My Sister Has Moved Out

After Nearly 5 years of being her Foster Career

By Lauren RosePublished 20 days ago 3 min read
Like

Hello Everyone,

In this I will be explaining what has happened with my sister. Nothing bad has happened but she has taken this time to move into Supported Housing.

With the Supported Housing she is living with other girls around her age in a house with a 'Foster Parent' of the sort to help and support them. She will learn and improve. This is something that is good. This is a great opportunity for her. This is something that can change her life if she allows herself to accept the help.

Mason and I both believe this will be an amazing chance of learning new things, it will encourage her to be more independent with her life. This will mean that me and her can rebuild our sisterly relationship. Over the past five years I have been juggling trying to be a sister to her but also try to be a parental figure in her life. This had proved difficult as at times it felt like she didn't respect me.

I don't blame her, the girl has had a tough life. She is a tough cookie and she should be proud of herself for getting herself this far. She shold be so proud of how far she has come in this life. She is going to acheive so much in life and I am so proud of her.

When she first came to live with us it was difficult to put the boundries and rules into place but that was something that we had learned to adjust to. This in itself took time but we got there in the end and we where all better when these where in place. It did take its time but we got there in the end.

She is doing well, she is learning to live independently and learning to budget, save money. She is doing well and both Mason & I are proud of her for doing this for herself. We will also support her through whatever she may need help with. I hope she knows that she can turn to us if she needs help and support.

Whilst it is very different for all 3 of us, we are all doing well. Mason has got a new job and waiting for a start date of that job. He is in the middle of waiting for a start date. Whilst I am still applying for jobs. Grasiey is applying for jobs and also looking at doing college again. And we are proud of her for doing what she needs to do to be able to progress.

Living in the flat without her is very different, very quite to say the least. She was very loud but in a good way. She would always make us laugh when she was here. She is someone i look up to. Someone who is tough and resilient.

I will say that whilst Mine and Graisey's relationship has been rough and rocky we are slowly getting back to be able to have a sisterly relationship. There is still more to be done and there is still more of the relationship to build on but I know we will build on this relationship.

I know this sisterly relationship will rebuild, I know it will take time but I know we will get there.

It was tough to be her Foster Parent and her sister at the same time but I do not for 1 minute regret doing it. I know I did it out of love and support for her. She wouldn't be where she is today without the support and love from Mason & I and the support and love from both of our families. We love her.

siblingsfosteradviceadoption
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Rose

27 years old

Ex - Foster Parent

Stories of struggles, Some that I have overcome and some that I am still facing today.

Some of my stories are about the skin issues i am having. I hope to help others better understand Hidradenitis Suppurativa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.