Families logo

My Rainbow Baby, My Son

Words I never thought I would say

By Crystal NicolePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Broly dressed as Goku

I never thought I would be saying the words “my son”. I had finally gotten used to the idea that my daughter would be the only child I would ever have biologically. We were surprised when we found out that almost two years after an ectopic pregnancy, my fiancé and I were expecting. We were overcome with joy, when we found out we would be having a boy. I had always wanted a son, although any gender would have been okay with me. All I wanted was the baby!

The day before he was born

Luckily, we already had a boy’s name picked out. Broly David James. Broly after an anime character from Dragon Ball, one of my fiancé’s favorite shows. David after an uncle and my grandpa who I am close with and James after my dad and my fiancé’s middle name. That part was really easy!

Photo From our Rainbow Photo shoot Courtesy of https://www.facebook.com/UntouchedPhotography1068

Broly David James joined our family officially on October 9th of 2020. Who knew that the year from hell would bring good things? Broly was born via C-section because the doctors weren’t just expecting me to give birth to a 9 pounder, but he was also breach. He was due October 25th, but they decided due to medical reasons as well as his weight, he would join us on October 9th. It’s a good thing the doctors decided this, because my little turkey had a knot in his cord. He wasn’t as big as they thought, but he did weight 8 pounds 5 ounces.

Moments after birth

It was scary and hard, because my fiancé was the only one allowed to be there. Sadly, due to restrictions because of COVID-19, my family and my fiancé’s family was not allowed to visit. I really wanted my daughter there. She wanted to be there for the birth of the little brother she was so excited to meet. She has wanted a sibling all her life.

My 13 year old with her new brother

It’s been almost three months and we are enjoying him. It took a bit for me to develop a bond with him, but that’s a story for another day. Broly has such a big personality for such a tiny little guy. He’s grown so much in this small amount of time and I look forward to watching him grow and develop more. A year ago, I never thought I would be sitting here, with a baby next to me that was mine.

Broly at Christmas

In the end, Doctors are people we should (mostly) trust, but they don’t know absolutely everything. There are several instances of Doctors being wrong about something and in this case the Doctors were wrong. I have my little baby boy as proof of that. Never give up hope. I am not saying that they’re wrong in every case. There are some circumstances where they are 100% right and sometimes you can’t change the future, but who knows. Maybe you will be sitting in my spot one day.

Broly

children
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Nicole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Crystal Nicole is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.