Families logo

My mother

Her strength

By Kevin hodgsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Where to start, when most of us can say so many great things about our mothers. My mother wasn’t the best cook, but she tried , I remember many of an over cooked meal. But looking back I may have helped in making this happen. Always in trouble, with a short temper. So instead of cooking she was trying to keep and eye on me. I am currently a single full time father. While I am at work , it is my mother who has my son. And I know he is in good care. Because I know she would ruin a well planned meal to make sure he is safe. As she has done for myself in the past.

I learned a lot from my mother , to what a great parent should be. Whenever I get into a jam, On how I should handle what my son has done. I think and look back at what my mother has done.

My son has my temper, I see it all to well. Yes I have calmed down, and I thank my mom for helping quell that rage . The little things she taught me when I was growing. They still apply today, and I use them on him.

I am a calmer man now then I was as a child . She was able to deal with my fire, and teach me to turn it into something I can forge. I have become a patient man, through her patient ways.

I thank my mother for still being here to help, who continues to be a rock, when the world is in chaos . Reminding me that in the end. If you can remain calm, you will be able to take your time. See the whole picture , then solve what you can. That not everything is fixable , but everything is manageable.

I was still stubborn, ( part of me still is) in my 20’s . And I lost my job, my girlfriend at the time left with our child, and I was losing the place that I lived. I felt like the world was caving in on me. Yet, I still refused to reach out and ask for help. Sinking , I did what was the most irrational thing I have ever down. I went down to the local credit union and held it up. I was going to use the money to try and get an apartment or at least a hotel for a few.

The mother of my child called the cops , and then called me to have me watch our child. When I pulled up , the cops took me out of the car and arrested me in front of my child. My ex saying ,” Say bye to daddy , he won’t be around anymore.”

Three weeks , I was locked up for. Before I was able to get my first letter. It was from my mother. Not condoning me, but asking why I didn’t ask for help. That she loves me dearly, and that she is still here.

I took a plea bargain, and spent the next 32 months in federal prison. Every other week, my mother was there to visit me. She would bring my child with her , when she was able to. But she never missed a visit.

Unconditional love , is the strongest of all loves. And it is shown in a mother’s love. She helped me get back on my feet. Got me to started on making a parenting plan that would work, so I could be in my child’s life. She taught me , that no matter how far you fall down. You can always climb back up.

I can never point out just one, thing I have learned more over another from my mother. For she was able to show me that even the smallest lessons can make the biggest compact.

parents
1

About the Creator

Kevin hodgson

single full time father.

I love to cook and write for my friends.

Taking a step forward to start sharing to a bigger world now.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.