Families logo

MY LIFE SUPPORT

The Dragon Beside Me

By Olalekan AdeekoPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1

Words may fail to do justice to how amazing you have been to me. Often I have heard and seen when people are placed on Life support machines to take hold and bring back the life they once lived. In my case, you gave your life in the quest for my future and well-being. You were no MACHINE.

To the world, you are just my mother, but to me, you are my world.

It is you Who sat and watched my infant head,

When sleeping in my cradle bed.

You gazed upon my heavy eye,

And wept for fear that I should die.

When sleep forsook my open eye,

It was you who sang sweet hushaby,

And rock’d me that I should not cry?

My Mother.

I am grateful to Ann Taylor for composing such a lovely poem. It rings in my head everyday just like when I was taught as a little immature boy.

The price you have paid to pave the way for me has been immeasurable.

I have watched you go the extra mile to see that my happiness comes to fulfillment.

I have watched you cry in prayers all night just to know I am spiritually secure.

I have seen you walk into offices to put in a good word for me, even after thousands of rejections and disrespect from people.

I have seen you forfeit your meal for me just so I can eat.

I have seen you sell the most precious things you've got just to see that my fee was paid.

You never gave up on me even when you were sick and fragile.

You gaze into my eyes with a smile, your smile makes me giggle like a bride walking down the aisle with the love of her life.

You speak life into my being each day as I get ready for school, getting me prepared and motivated for the day.

Many times you've sat me down and taught me about life, what to expect, and what not to expect from LIFE.

In your words Mom, "Life will give to you what you demand from it.", "Life is in phases, but men are in sizes."

Even when my infant mind can not comprehend most of the words you utter then, now I fully understand what they mean, many of which I am experiencing right now.

You guided my life like you had a blueprint of how it would all turn out. Many times I ask myself if you possess some divine powers that I know not or if you are supernatural. All you tell or advise me to do has always come back to the way you've said it.

With five kids you are always ensuring no one is left out. Many times I have been annoying still the love you showed me covers all.

My Life Support, My esteemed Jewel, I will and always take good care of you, those were the words I uttered each time we had a heartfelt conversation. I have always been looking forward to an avenue to announce you to the world, and I am happy I finally have the chance to do so.

I am sorry I couldn't be your Life Support when you needed me most, I am sorry I couldn't help you defeat your fight with the deadly CANCER, I am sorry you couldn't see your boy doing great things and living the life lessons you have taught him. I am sorry you are not here to see this, you are in a better place that I know for sure.

Your love and support surpass all monetary gifts.

You are more precious than Rubies.

The Dragon Beside Me.

parentsvalueshumanity
1

About the Creator

Olalekan Adeeko

Olalekan Adeeko is an author, podcaster, public speaker, and he advocates for gender equality.

He loves traveling, and meeting people.

He is the author of the best-selling book "Success is free; only if you are ready to pay the price."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.