Families logo

My Life Conveyor.

Sweet Mother.

By Olalekan AdeekoPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4

It is with great joy and happiness that i write this lovely piece. I was so happy when i saw this challenge, looking at the topic gives me life, because this has been the type and kind of opportunity i have been looking out for to express and share with millions of people the great role my supermom played in my life.

Really i must say there is no other better platform to get that done but right here on Vocal.

If i had a thousand booklet i will definitely exhaust them, but then there is still a better way to showcase my supermom with the space and privilege i have on here.

Before i go deeper, i will start out with this lovely poem by Ann Taylor, my super mom taught me when i was young. it goes like this,

"Who sat and washed my infant head,

when sleeping on my cradle bed,

And tears of sweet affection shed?

My mother."

It was so simple and short but it still rings in my head like it all happened yesterday. Oh, my sweet mother. I am grateful you were my conveyor to this planet earth. Atinuke as she is called, the first thing she taught us as kids was the fear of the Lord. Every time she sets out to pray, she makes sure we are always beside her. She says and i quote "Remember the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom." I keep wondering alongside my siblings what she meant, "What does she mean by wisdom we ask ourselves" when she's not there. She taught us to pray the very simple and little way we can, and that we do and rotate every time it was the time to pray. Oh lovely memories, it still stuck till now. Whenever i sleep without saying a word of prayer it feels as if her voice echoes in my ears whispering to me, "You have not prayed, get up and pray." What a great legacy she left for us.

"Mummy with the belt" The name my siblings and i coined out for her, due to her incredible expertise in the area of discipline. I really have not seen anyone discipline like my mom. Wow! Such an experience i had with her. I was the stubborn one, and she was everly ready to infuse and ensure discipline in me. in her words "I am your mom and my job is to make sure you are well trained." I look her in the face when she says this, she says it with great authority and power. She made sure she molded me to what she wanted me to look like in the area of discipline. My siblings were not left out as well, at that moment where you will think she's getting older and ought to rest, she gained for herself more strength to train and discipline my siblings. she says this word that rings well every time in my head as well, "Train up a child in the way he should go, when he grows he won't depart from it." She is a great disciplinarian.

Who i am to forget the priceless sacrifices she paid for the family when my dad lost his job and we all depended on her income which was less than $100. She went as far as selling her jewelry, clothes just to fend for the family. She did different additional jobs just to make sure we are all comfortable. Most times she comes home and the next thing my siblings and i do is to give her a massage.

My stressed sweet mother Atinuke, she will in her stress go to the kitchen to see if we actually dished our dad's food and ours well. All because of her stress sometimes she is unable to eat. She then settles for what we call "Garri" known as "Cassava flakes" down here in West Africa Nigeria. "Garri" has got nothing to offer to the body but still yet my mom takes that and goes to bed. My mom doesn't like taking pictures. The one I uploaded above was the one i forcefully took of her. Oh, sweet mom.

Super Boss Mom. So much respect i have for her, for her selfless service to everyone around our community. Festive periods are always her best times as a lot of people would match down to our house simply because they know my mom would surely cook that very day. No wonder everyone loves us and gives us gifts instead of giving them to my mom. Her last days hurts me as i write because she didn't see her children graduate or get married before she decided to bid us bye.

In the latter part of her days, she had Cancer. Breast cancer to be precise. My Boss Mom didn't want us to worry and she kept it all to herself. She continued her daily works and care for the family. I don't really blame her because even if she told us there was nothing we could do to save her. There was no fund for her surgery and infact, she couldn't go for surgery because she had the last stage of diabetes. So if she peradventure she went for the surgery it wouldn't have healed because of her diabetes.

In her pains she smiles, gists with us, with her breasts all green she prayed, made sure we were happy. It is a pity she wasn’t around to see us all grown. Below is the recent picture of my immediate sister and I.

A lot of times i'll wake up to check up on her but then i will find my Super Boss Mom, awake, and praying. Then i said to myself i am going to travel out of my state and go to some other state to get a job or something doing to get money to at least cater for some things in the home. Little did i know i wasn't going to see her until she's about to be laid to rest. She keeps calling me and saying, "Lekan come home, i want to see you, come home!" And there i was telling her i won't come home without making some money. You wouldn't blame me because those periods were the Christmas and holiday seasons. I told her i was going to arrive a day after Christmas. My Super Boss Mom Atinuke gave up the ghost praying on Christmas day.

REST ON BOSS MOM I JUST WROTE ABOUT YOU, WE LOVE YOU!

parents
4

About the Creator

Olalekan Adeeko

Olalekan Adeeko is an author, podcaster, public speaker, and he advocates for gender equality.

He loves traveling, and meeting people.

He is the author of the best-selling book "Success is free; only if you are ready to pay the price."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.