Families logo

My Grandmother

My memories with my grandmother

By Aditya vermaPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
1

Recently, I lost my grandmother. She was 92 years old. Her death was painless and just a result of oldage. Even at this age she was able to walk on her own do her daily chores of praying and eating without any special assistance.

My earliest memory of her is cooking in kitchen when i was maybe 8 or 9 years old. She used to come to our house every winter and stay for 3-4 months. She was sort of like a migartory bird staying at her 3 sons'house during the entire year. She used to tell me stories of gods and demons and their fights and had a vast knowledge about the mythology. She was quite active for her age and used to enjoy reading paper and watching relegious shows on television.

I remember this one time I and my dad took her to a fair and the parking was not available. We had to park the car 2 km away. At that time she might be in her 80s but still she was able to walk that much from the parking spot to fair and return. She was a big foodie. Give her sweets, burger, samosas or chaat she could eat everything and quite joyfully so. Once we gave her Lazania and she enjoyed it as well unknowingly what it was. She used to help me with hindi when i was in 2nd or 3rd grade. Sorry about the chronology i am writing this as memories keep coming in my mind of her. She was hard of hearing as far as i remember so we had to basically scream or loudly say things in her ears for her to understand. But surprisingly her eyesight was wonderful. She had blue colored eyes a rarity among indians.

She helped my with odd jobs like peeling pees or veggies when maid wasn't around. She even sometimes used to wash utensils or cook food when mom was'nt well and maid wasn't around. She used to scream at our maid for washing clothes on thursday of which my mom was'n't that happy. She always used to ask my maid wheather i had been served food before taking herself. She was very caring for her sons and grandsons. She always had this strict routine off getting up in morning early, having her tea and then bathing. No matter how much cold, she always was first one to take a bath then do her pooja chores. She only did breakfast after reading her mala and reading the bhagwat gita. If there is heaven or hell she will directly go to heaven such a pious person she was.

My regret is that my last memory with her was not good. My father forcing me to meet her and i saying that there is no need there is plenty of time to meet her but thankfully he dragged me to meet her. Sometimes we take things for granted which we shouldn't.

I being a grandson was also part of funeral possesion and customs that follow. I remember that as her body was passing a roundabout a policeman took off his cap and bowed in respect. That moment stuck deep in me. A stranger who had no compulsion to do so bowed and i started to wonder wheather i was a good grandson or not. Many times when i had not acknowledged my granny's blessing. A deep sense of anguish hit me when i realized i won't hear her voice again or see her face. Wrapped in white cloth her lifeless shallow face which was once full of life. As wood started to pile she was fully covered with it and finally the pyre was lit.

I guess looking back i only want to remember the good memories i have with her. Obvisouly as the time will pass i will forget many things that is why i am writing this memoir of my memories with her. Wherever you are granny I Love you !!!

grandparents
1

About the Creator

Aditya verma

Recently graduated from teenager to adult. Still coming to terms with responsibilities independent stuff... Just going where life takes me while exploring myself which has led me to here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.