Families logo

My First Tattoo

A long lasting memory

By Lori CrowleyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
My first tattoo - Sun & Moon on my chest near my right shoulder

I have always wanted a tattoo ever since I found out they existed, which was around the age of 10. I already had what I wanted & where I wanted it picked out & everything; sun & moon on my chest near my right shoulder. One night, when I was 15, I tried to get a tattoo but was told that I was too young & I had to be at least 18 to get one. I was really bummed that I couldn't get it but I promised myself I would go back when I was old enough.

On the day of my 18th birthday, I told everyone that I was going to go get a tattoo. My sister, Amy (who was 4 years older than me & pregnant with my twin nephews at the time) said that she wanted to get one, too, so we decided to go together to the tattoo shop near our house. It was going to be her first tattoo, as well, but, unlike me, she didn't know what she was going to get or where she was going to put it. So, later that night, we left our house & drove to the tattoo shop. We were so excited! Well, when we got there, the tattoo artist told Amy that she couldn't get her tattoo because she was pregnant. He said that she could have an adverse reaction to the ink which could cause an infection and harm her babies, so she decided to watch me as I got my tattoo and then get hers sometime later on.

As the tattoo artist was doing his work, I saw Amy's face flinching. Everytime she would flinch, she would ask me, "Does it hurt? I looks like it hurts." which would make me laugh. I kept telling her, "No, it doesn't hurt... now stop so I can stop laughing." After the tattoo artist was finished with my tattoo, Amy looked at me & said, "I can't believe you did that. It really didn't hurt? You know mom & dad are gonna be pissed, right?!", which made me laugh even more. I didn't care... I was happy I finally got my tattoo. We then left the shop and went home.

When we got home, our parents were in the living room waiting on us. Amy goes through the door and says, "Lori got a tattoo!" and busted out laughing. My parents told me to show them, which I did. My dad looked right at me and said, "Well, I guess you're old enough to be that stupid." and then started reading a book. My mom just wouldn't stop staring at me with a look of disgust. I almost died laughing. I was expecting their reactions to be way worse than that. I looked at Amy and said, "Well, you're getting one next. I wonder what they'll say to you."

A few months later, Amy had her sons. She wanted to get her tattoo but never could find the time because of how busy she was with her twins. Well, Amy never did get her tattoo... she ended up asphyxiating during an asthma attack & dying at the age of 26, about 2 & a half years after the twins were born.  Since then, I have gotten 2 more tattoos, one of which is a memorial tattoo for Amy, but this tattoo is my favorite because everytime I look at it, I remember my sister and all the fun we would have.

A lot of time has passed since then. I'm 40 years old now & the loss of Amy still hurts. I love & miss my sister very much. I'm so glad she was there when I got that tattoo & that I have that memory of her.

grief
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.