Families logo

My daughter's psychic powers

A very spooky encounter

By D-DonohoePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4
My daughter's psychic powers
Photo by Morgan Sessions on Unsplash

There have been plenty of times that I thought that my daughter had magical powers or could read minds. She would come out with a statement that was the exact same thing that I was thinking, and I would ask, “Can you read my mind?” She would just giggle and not answer which added to the mystery of it all. But this one incident left me thinking that there was something more to her powers.

My daughter was born on Nanna’s 100th birthday. It was great to call Nanna up and tell her that for her birthday I had gotten her a great-granddaughter born on her birthday. I told her that whilst everyone else was bringing flowers and chocolates, I had gotten a little girl with the same middle name as hers. Nanna was chuffed and it was the first time in my life I had heard her get upset with genuine emotion.

From then on, Nanna would always refer to her as “Our little girl”. She would ring from the nursing home and check on her. When we were finally able to go visit so she could meet her in person, she was instantly in love with her. This was even stranger because Nanna had always favored the male children in the family. However, this little girl had touched her heart and she kept saying that she had a special connection with her.

Sadly, as inevitably happens to us all, Nanna passed away. I had to fly up for the funeral and I left my wife and daughter at home. On the morning of the funeral, I made a Facetime call to them to check in and see how things were. My daughter asked, “Dad, where are you?” My wife jumped in and said, “Remember, Dad’s going to say goodbye to Nanna”.

My little girl smiled and said, “Oh yeah, and you’re going to see Kevin”. I was a bit taken aback, but my wife simply said “Ummm, there’s no Kevin, I don’t know who this Kevin is that you have been talking about all day”. I breathed deeply, a little bit shocked.

I responded, “Ummm, Kevin was granddad’s name”.

I could see the look on my wife’s face, it was almost as shocked as mine. My wife and I started dating many years after Grandad had passed. Searching for answers, my wife probed further, “Did you tell her that?” I shook my head and said, “The only person that called Grandad Kevin, was Nanna”.

Grandad died when I was sixteen, I wasn’t allowed to go to his funeral, because we lived far away. That upset me for a long time because he was one of my relatives that I always looked up to. He was a larrikin and steadying influence on his large family.

At that point, my daughter went off to play and my wife informed me that she had been talking about Kevin all morning and that she kept saying that I would be seeing him today. There were not many other Kevins that I knew, and I couldn’t explain the reason that name had popped into her head on the morning of Nanna’s funeral.

I went and saw all of my extended family. Large Irish Catholic families always have their disputes and mine was no different. I walked the fine line of being friendly to each side of the respective feuds without being seen to be taking one specific side. At the cemetery, Nanna was laid to rest in the same grave as Grandad. I was happy that they were back together again after all this time. I flew home that night and got in after my daughter's bedtime.

The next morning, I was there when my daughter woke up. She looked at me, and said, “Did you say goodbye to Nanna?” To which I replied, “Yes I did”. She then asked a follow-up question, “and did you get to see Kevin?” I smiled and held her hand, “Yeah kiddo, I saw Kevin as well”.

She smiled back and said, “I’m glad”.

She didn’t ask about Kevin ever again from that moment.

It could all be a coincidence, but it was a very spooky one.

If you enjoyed this true story, please leave a heart of a comment or even a tip. If you would like to read more of my stories, then please check out some of my others.

children
4

About the Creator

D-Donohoe

Amateur storyteller, LEGO fanatic, leader, ex-Detective and human. All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little risqué all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    There are angels everywhere, little miracles. World is full of secrets. Loved this story.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Give me goosebumps. Her great grandad came to visit her. Beautiful family story . It was a pleasure to read. I love stories that connect people from the spirit realm ♥️

  • I'm so sorry for your loss. I've heard a lot of stories like this. I have no idea where kids get this power from. It's just so fascinating. I enjoyed reading this!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Wow! They really did have a special connection :) Great storytelling and thank you for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.