Families logo

My Brother's Keeper

Unconditional Love

By Pam ZeePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
4

In the Wake of My Mom's Anniversary. I cannot help but recall one of the major Turning point in My Life, when she was still living. You see in Her Eyes; I was her baby aka the baby of the house. I would have probably remained in that element for a lifetime, but I wanted to venture out and be seen and treated as an adult. However, I had not fully thought out my strategy to achieve this stance. And No, I did not mind being her baby, nevertheless; I just wanted to be seen and be recognized as a responsible young adult. Something about that new element just sinks deep, the demeanor that you talk changes, the way people react and respond to you differs in a positive way. And best of all, you can make life challenging decisions on your own without anyone questioning your motives. The freedom that comes with being a responsible young adult is endless.

The year is 2010, and season is Spring. I am fairly new in Houston and my life revolves around school full time. I currently live with my Brother Ariko, he is seldom home during the week but returns home on the Weekends. It is Safe to say, I semi-live alone. Nevertheless, this current lifestyle works perfect with my schooling. On one given Saturday, my Brother arrives home extremely early in the morning and asked me to accompany him Somewhere. Unbeknownst to me, that this Day would change my Life for the better. I agree to go, and we immediately freshen up and leave. The time is approximately 9am, and I am sleep deprived. We soon drive up to a local Fiesta and Ariko immediately walks towards the western Union service booth. It is then that I realized why I am accompanying him to this place he wanted us to go. He doesn't mention why he is at western union, but given that this was the only wire transfer means to send money internationally. I figured he wanted to send someone money back home. You see back then; Western Union was your go to stop for All if but any international services. So, I proceed to inquire by asking him "who are you sending money to". He responds gently by saying Mom. I ask if she's okay and the reason for sending the money. It is then that Ariko brings me up to speed as to why he awoken me this early Saturday morning to accompany him to this secret location. I never cared to ask where we were going while in the car. Maybe it's due to the fact that I was halfway asleep or simply trying to learn my surroundings as he drove. Remember I am new to Houston, so any road trip we take is a session for me to learn the streets and surroundings. Nevertheless, I am now relieved my sleepless morning is worth the trip. He fills out the forms and while awaiting our turn to be assisted, I continue to inquire how much are you sending. He shows me the written amount on the slip he is holding, and I immediately gasp in shock.

The Form says $1,000 so I immediately alert him if he is aware he wrote $1,000 on that money gram slip. He nods his head by saying yes. I immediately go into a panic mode. Is Mom okay, why are you sending such lump-some of money? Ariko politely whispers I got this as a Bonus at work and wanted Mom to have it. I ask how much his bonus was, and he firmly says $1,000. I am now in more shock, so I ask him again loudly while still standing in line. You got a bonus for $1,000, and you are sending her the whole thing? You are not going to take a portion of it for yourself? He nods his head No. Unbelievable, still mesmerized by this whole ordeal. I loudly ask...but why. Ariko gently responded saying " I can Always make another bonus, let Mom have this one". I have been wanting to do Something nice for her for a while. At this point my tone of voice is extremely loud, Ariko Effortless tries to whisper in an attempt to get me to stop shouting. The more he avails his reasons the more I am shocked, and the more I continue to shout while I talk. At this point I'm thinking, I Know I love my mother, but I would take a portion of that bonus for myself first. But Ariko insists he wants to send her the whole amount, so I stand there in disbelief and support his decision. Ultimately, we are called to the service desk and mid-service, the attendant notices his ID is expired and cancels the transaction. Ariko is determined to send his mother this money, so we drive up to another Fiesta location across town. And again, we are unsuccessful. Ariko starts to give up and decide we drive back home. It is then that I recall seeing a newly constructed Fiesta opening soon in our neighborhood, while coming from school the previous day, so I suggested we go try there. Ariko being unfamiliar with the location inquires of if I'm sure of what I saw, being that I’m new in Houston. But he entrusts me So, we head out again and drive back towards our neighborhood. Indeed, the Fiesta was there, and the grand opening just happened to be that very Saturday. We immediately rushed inside to the western union kiosk and waited in line once again. Luckily Ariko had saved the previous forms from the other two locations, so we simply didn't have to refill any paperwork. Surprisingly the line was short and we were soon called up next. Unbeknownst to us, the clerk did not notice the expiration date and process the transaction Effortlessly. The relief from Ariko when that receipt printed out assured me, he was really anxious to treat our Mother. Soon after driving back home, Ariko gave me the receipt with the confirmation numbers to issue to my mother when I call her.

Ariko left home that Saturday afternoon, but left me with the task to deliver the news of his good deeds to my Mother. Still in disbelief I did not know where to start nor what to say. So, I simply called my mom and delivered the confirmation number without telling the amount she would receive. All I mentioned was that your Son sent you some money. The following Monday she went to retrieve the money and was as just surprised as I was to see the amount. She immediately called me to confirm the amount she received was legit. What followed was a series of questions, of how, why and where Ariko got such money. I could not bring myself to discuss the details for I was still mesmerized how Ariko sent his entire bonus to his Mother just because. $1,000 is the equivalence of 100K in Kenya, and back in 2010 having 100k was like having a million dollars. So you can see, why this was not just an ordinary ordeal. My Mother was never the type to ask you for money. Never would you know that she is broke or unwell. It was upon you to just send her something because she would never ask for it. Unbeknownst to Ariko, a whole week my mother interrogated me trying to find out why, where, and how did Ariko manage to send her such a lump sum of money just because. According to my Mother, No child of hers had ever done that just because. She said she had never received such a lump sum of money as a gift. And was adamant to know what made Ariko send such amount of money. Each time she inquired, I would politely say, it's not my story to tell I will have your son call you to tell you himself. My Mother knowing how close me and Ariko are, already knew I knew. Being my Brother’s keeper, I finally convinced Ariko to call his mother without mentioning her interrogating me. Till this day Ariko never knew how much the Mother was flattered and pleased with his gesture, while at the same time concerned where he got such amount of money. After 7days of me being interrogated, I finally convinced Ariko to call My Mother. I was able to convince him his mother wants to thank him directly. Ariko did in fact call her that day and availed his reasons for sending her money just because. And in return my mother called me back to confirm what Ariko had told her. I immediately reassured my mother of what her son is capable of. He does random extraordinary things. But doesn't like the limelight just like you.. the only difference is that He does things when he wants to do it, not when instructed or forced to do things. He loves unconditionally and can even give you his last breath if it was possible. It is then that my mother rested and took a deep breathe. She acknowledged her son's characteristics by stating " Yeah, He has the Heart of My Father, Gutmen". And it is at that very same moment that my Mother also took me to be a responsible young adult hence forth. What started as a trip to the grocery store, ended up changing my whole life trajectory. I am so grateful to Ariko for this kind deed and gesture. I learned two things that day, to give people their flowers now. For Tomorrow is not promised. You see soon after this incident, I too started working and would send my mother 10% of my paycheck just because. Had I remained in that Predicament as "the baby of the house", knowing my mother, she would have never accepted my money. She would have instead sympathized with me for being a full time student and assume that I am not fully capable of taking care of myself yet. I never knew she would die 5 years later from this ordeal. Had I waited till I make it later in life to spoil my mother or present myself as a responsible adult. I would have never had the opportunity to spoil my mother just because. If it weren't for Ariko doing things just because, I would have never had the urgency to do things just because. I have countless stories about Ariko and many more kind Gestures, but the one that still leaves me in awe to this day. Is how he simply gave his entire bonus to his Mother. Reason, because he can always make another.

I remember my First Cellphone ever in life. Ariko bought it for me and even paid for the service line diligently for years without ever Complaining. I had to convince him I got it now, I can handle it from here years after I started working. Today I celebrate you Ariko. You Will always be ‘Mon Favorite’ in the Family. Forever Sacrificing the most so I can at least have the bare minimum. I may not always Show my Gratitude but Just know that Your favorite Stylist Appreciates All your Good deeds.

Not to mention just recently, Ariko went on a mission to Do something nice for her sister for her upcoming Birthday. And again, he entrusted me and recruited me to assist. For three months we plotted and planned our strategic move to get Ivy big time. As Ariko would put it, I want to do something nice for my sister. The exact sentiments he had used the time he sent his mother "a million bucks". He recruited me to find out what Dosh really wanted but doesn't have. Luckily every now and then, Dosh would mention how she wants to learn how to play the Saxophone and what not. So, I immediately contacted Ariko and alerted him. She wants a Saxophone. Immediately Ariko instructed me to order it then hide it till her birthday. but I knew Dosh would find out, she usually brings the packages dropped off at our door. So, I instructed Ariko to order the gift instead. Unfortunately, by the time we were attempting to order this great musical instrument, somebody else had already beat us to the game. We had to fold and find another great gift for Dosh. I felt for Ariko, for I knew how bad he wanted to do something nice for his sister. And this saxophone would have been his goal ticket. Nevertheless, we still managed to Surprise Dosh Big Time. And I couldn't be happier to continue being my Brother's keeper. I salute you Ariko, you never seize to amaze me. Nyomollo is definitely Smilling down on us knowing, even in her demise. You are still the Rock of our Family. Consider this my Token of Flowers to you. You taught me how to Celebrate the Living and not the Dead from young age. I wish you receive all your flowers while Alive.

values
4

About the Creator

Pam Zee

I am Author/Writer living in TX. I strive to create narratives that resonate deeply with human experience. I hope my stories can bring people together, allowing us to find common ground, and understand the beauty in our diversity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.