Families logo

Mother's Day Letter

To a special mother that is no longer here to enjoy the day with us. I love you so very much and miss you more than you will ever know. If you were only here with us still. I love you mom and I hope you are watching over us every day. Thank you for being a perfect mother to me and John.

By Laura mcleanPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
My MOM, DAD and baby laura/me

Dear mom,

Hay mom. I know it has been a long time since I have spoken to you. I am so sorry about that. I have been so busy with the kids these days. You should see them now up so much since the last time you had seen them. I wish you were still around so I could share all these moments with you.

Memorial Bench we had made after my mother passed away.

The other day Dominick told me that he missed you a whole lot. Then he started crying. I told him I know how he feels. Mom was taken away from us way too soon, and I know you would have wanted to see your grandkids grow up right along with me changing my ways.

You did teach me a lot of things I never thought I would ever use in my life. You have been gone so long I have forgotten most things you had always told me. But I do know I am so grateful for you being my mom. You were not only my mom, but you were a mother to all my friends. You were the best mom anyone could have asked for.

My mother when she was in high school.

Yes, we may have had our differences from time to time, but I never stopped loving you. I know there was time I would say some hateful things, but I never meant any of it. You were the one there for me all the time. You were there through every breakup and heartache I had gone through.

When I lived in Florida, you were doing your best to still be a good mother to me. I know when I moved to Florida with dad, I said some mean things to you. But mom, I love you, and even though I had left on bad terms at that point, you were still there when I called at 7 am to talk to you because I was homesick and could not stop getting sick every morning. But as soon as I heard your voice, I started to feel better. Your voice was so soothing to me.

A beautiful pome for a beautiful MOM!

Mom, when I was in labor with Dominick, you stayed on the phone for hours with me. You didn't even want to hang up to use the bathroom. You stayed on the phone with me the whole time. When it was time for me to push, you still stayed on the phone to hear everything. Just because you could not be in Florida at the time, I was having my first baby. You told me that being on the phone was just like you being in the room with me. I will never forget that.

My mom right after she gave birth to me!

As the days go on, I try not to think about you a lot. Because when I do think about you, all I can do is cry. When Mother's day comes along, it hard for me. I don't even want to celebrate it. But I have to for my kids. I don't want them to hate Mother's day as I do. There are so many holidays I do not like any longer because you are no longer here to share them with us.

You were the greatest mother anyone could ask for. I remember you telling me the story of when I was younger. You had told me that you and aunt mary was sitting in our back yard watching me run through the sprinkler. That you had looked away for a split second and then looked back to see me run through the sprinkler with my eyes closed. You said I ran through the sprinkler, and then I turned toured the house and kept running with my eyes closed. Mom, I am so grateful that you looked back just in time to see me run right into the brick siding of our house, and you took off running and slid across the grass to catch me before I hit the ground.

Mom told me that you felt like you were a baseball player the way you slid to catch me. If you would not have been watching me and I hit the ground after running into the brick wall, who knows what would have happened to me. I may not have been here today if you would have just let me hit the ground. I love you, mom.

My mother when she was pregnant with me!

All the stories you had told me about when I was growing up shaped the way I raised my kids. You showed me the right and wrong way to raise any child. You always said I was going to be a good mother when I had kids. I see now that even when I was not paying attention, you were still teaching me things. There was probably even time you didn't know you were teaching me, but you were.

I do my best with my kids. When I first had my kids, and through their toddler years, I was not present in their lives like I should have been. But I knew you were watching over them for me. I was so messed up after GOD had taken you. It took a very long time for me to find my way again. But even when I was doing the wrong thing, I still made sure my kids practiced their manners and taught them right from wrong. I managed to teach them many things that you taught me as I grew up.

I believe that even when I was doing wrong, you were there doing what I could not do at the time. I love you very much, mom. In my eyes, there is no other mother like you. There will never be another person to take your place in my heart. You are and will always be my one and true mother.

My mother and my kids

I hated when the guy you were with would not let you speak to me. You were not allowed to talk to me at all. But you still found a way to talk to me. Whether it be a quick phone call when you were on the way to the store or a phone call after he went to bed. You always found a way to talk to me. I wish I had more time with you, mom. I miss you so much and wish you were here every day.

I know I was a difficult child to raise. But you did a great job with my brother and me. Sometimes it was tough love, but most of the time, it was true love you could receive from a mother. I know we gave you a hard time most of the time, but you still kept pushing forward. You never stopped trying with us. You are the greatest mother I could have had. You always gave it over 100%.

There was a time that I wanted you to teach me how to cook. So you told me I could cook the mac and cheese for dinner. Mom, you told me what to do first and then so on. I remember my first time cooking that While the noodles were bowling and I thought they were done, I was supposed to drain the water from them. But I was so busy trying to do a good job, and I was talking to someone outside at the same time that I forgot to drain the noodles, and I added the cheese with the water still in pain.

I was so embarrassed that I couldn't even cook mac and cheese correctly. It's the easiest thing ever to cook. But I found a way to mess it up. I remember you telling me that it was okay that the mac and cheese would be watery. You told me it was okay. We were still going to eat them anyway, and we did just that. You acted like they were the best noodles that anyone could have ever made. But I knew better than that because I didn't even eat them and I am the one that cooked them. O' The fun times we had when you were around.

She looks so happy! Tami my mom

Thank you for all the good and bad memories you gave me. I still look back on them to this day. There are things I will never forget, and there are things I wish I could forget. You were there for every moment in my life. I love you, mom.

I hope Mother's day this year is better than the last one. I hope you are in heaven having a party to celebrate how much you were a wonderful mother. I hope you are up in heaven with a huge smile on your face knowing that you did a fantastic job raising my brother and me. I know if I were you, I would be up there having a great time know my kids made a life for themselves.

Even though you are now in heaven, I am told how much I look like you, how I have the same smile as you. I have pictures up on my wall of you and me, and when my friends see them, they think that you are my twin, or they say that it's me in the picture when it really is you, mom. It's amusing to see what other people think. As I look back at pictures of you when you were younger and some older pictures of you, I see how everyone thinks we look just alike. There are times when I look at the pictures that I have to take a second look. We look so much alike that even I mistake pictures of you as me.

Laura/Me

I remember when you would take me to the doctor's or even to the hospital. When the doctor came into the room, they talked to me like I was the mother and not the other way around. I was only maybe 15 years old at that time. I had never seen it when I was younger, but now to look at pictures, I see how they could mistake us. It really funny if you think about it.

grief
1

About the Creator

Laura mclean

I would like to test my writing skills. try and see if I can make it any better. When I was in middle school I had a published pome I wrote. It's been so long I can't remember the title or the name of the pome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.