Families logo

The sound of the Crunch

My mom going into labor with me and my dad not paying attention. The wonderful days of childbirth.

By Laura mcleanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
My uncle was always playing Bear Went over the mountain

I was born in Chardon, OHIO. It's basically in the town of Middlefield. I grew up there till I was around 7 or 8 years old. It was a small apartment with only two bedrooms. At that time, my brother and I were still young enough to share a room. It was right across the hall from our parent's room. It was just a tiny apartment where we lived.

Laura pied on bear blanket

I will start from when my mother was pregnant with me. So my mother and father moved into this apartment before they were even thinking about having kids. I can remember some stories my mother and father had told me about when my mother was pregnant with me. The one I remember the most is what I will be telling you now.

So my mother had gone into false labor a few times before it happened.

Aunt lilly and laura- ME

This story is so funny. I still laugh today when I think about it. With my mother going into false labor, my father treated my mother every time it was the last time.

My aunt and uncle come to stay with my parents to help out around the house. My mother was put on bed rest toured the end of her pregnancy. So my aunt and uncle were helping while my dad went to work.

When my father got home from work one day, he did the usual routine he did when he got off work. While sitting in his chair, my mom came to the top of the stairs asked my father for something. I guess she decided she went downstairs to get it herself but halfway down the stairs, she slipped and slid down the other half of the stairs.

My dad and Laura

As bad as that might sound, my father and mother were laughing and could not stop laughing. When she made it to the bottom, she hit the closet door at the bottom of the stairs. When her foot hit the closet, the closet comes off the track and fell on top of her. My dad went running over to her. He had to make sure my mom was ok. When he picked the closet door up off my mom and found her laughing, he knew she was ok, and they both started laughing.

The car

My mom went down the stairs fast enough to take the closet off track and make it fall on top of her. I will never forget that story for the rest of my life. But this one I am leading into, you will be laughing for days.

I believe it was like a week later, and my mom was already in bed, and my dad was just about to go to bed. They both were in bed, and dad was sleeping when my mom woke him up and told him that her water had broken and it was time to go to the hospital.

My dad and Laura as a baby

My mom told me that my dad jumped out of bed so fast and ran around the house like a chicken with its head cut off. My dad was trying to get everything together to take to the hospital with them.

Look how bad this is

My dad wanted to make sure they had the diaper bag and the car seat before leaving to go to the hospital.

Tami pregnant with Laura

While dad was trying to get everything together, my aunt got mom into the car and situated while waiting on my dad. My dad was in such a rush he had forgotten a few things in the house and went back into getting them.

While my mom was in pain and trying to breathe through the contractions. My dad was finally about in the car and starting it up. My aunt had got out of the car and went back into the house, and my dad was to shut the back door before pulling out the garage, but he forgets to shut the door and began to back out the garage.

My dad and Laura

My dad forgot to shut the door, continued to back out of the garage, and did not check to ensure everything was closed and out the way. He continues to back the up, and as he was backing the car up, he said all he heard was a crunch. When he looked to see what it was, that made that noise. He said he could not see anything, so dad keeps going until my mom yelled at him to stop the car that he just tore the door off the car.

Laura first hour out the whome

My dad could not believe that's what the noise was until he got out of the car and seen it for himself. He could not believe he didn't check and make sure the door was shut.

Grandma Sommers and Laura

So he had to go into the house and ask my aunt if they could use her car. My aunt asked why he needed to use their car, and my dad was mad at that point.

Laura on bear rug

He had to tell his sister that he wrecked the car backing up, and dad could not drive my mom to the hospital in their car that he needed to use my stunt's car. My aunt handed her keys to my dad and then went to get my mom into her jeep. My aunt told my dad to make sure he shut all the doors and don't rush.

Birth anouncment

This was my dad's first baby and his first time taking my mom to the hospital. He was unsure what to expect. What was funny was my dad almost made my mom have her first baby in the garage of their apartment.

My mom in labor

But my dad made sure everything was closed and headed to the store. Made it before my mom started to crown.

In Labor

I was born on October 28, 1987, at 10:28.

First day home

I can't remember if it was AM or PM. But my dad got my mom to the hospital in time. Thank god. I am here today to share these embarrassing moments that's happened in my life from day 1.

parents
1

About the Creator

Laura mclean

I would like to test my writing skills. try and see if I can make it any better. When I was in middle school I had a published pome I wrote. It's been so long I can't remember the title or the name of the pome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.