Families logo

Mother Rose

You Are A Lady

By Leiann Lynn Rose SpontaneoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Roses For A Rose

To you mother Rose, you do not know how sorry I am. If I could take the words back, I would. I didn’t mean it.

I remember sitting at the dinner table calling you a “sergeant”.

Why did I?

It was hard growing up to your standards. I felt that I could not do anything right. I felt that I had to be perfect.

Mother Rose, you are a lady. I mean it.

You made sure that I was fed.

You made sure that I had clothes on my back.

You allowed me to go to higher education even though we could not afford.

You allowed me boyfriends, of which were not the very best.

You made sure that I had organ lessons.

You practiced Spanish dialogue for school with me before bed.

You made sure my school clothes were ironed.

On Friday nights, you would allow me to watch television while you cleaned the kitchen.

You taught me to never waste food. Remember when I would raid the fridge for the leftover garden salad? When I had 2 to 3 helpings of your homemade spaghetti and then splurge on your homemade raspberry squares?

Mother Rose, I could go on and on.

You were just so strict.

Now do you understand?

You never kissed my father in front of me.

You never taught me about the birds and the bees.

You went to work and left me home.

You never taught me how to cook. I had to teach myself when I moved out on my own. I went to the library and yard sales for cookbooks. You did give me a Crock-Pot and for that I am thankful.

You never told me about your parents, my maternal grandparents. Maybe you are so strict because they were so strict?

You made sure that my appearance was what you wanted. For example, you would always tell me to run a “comb through my hair”. What the heck were you talking about? Then, you would tell me you were leaving me home if I planned on “looking like that”.

Would you have wanted a son instead?

You never told me your birthday, only that it is in April. How was I supposed to know in order to give you presents and a cake? I just never brought up the subject because obviously you did not want me to know.

I loved to hear you sing. I can barely sing a song, except maybe I could have once.

Has anything bad ever happened to you that you do not want me to know? I have been here for you this whole while. They say hurting people hurt people.

I want you to be happy so bad.

Just pray for me mother Rose and I shall pray for you. While I am away, I hope that you and our loved ones are happy, healthy and safe. I do pray every day.

Keep cooking that delicious food and baking those good desserts. Personally, I think that you should open up a business with your cooking and baking. I know that cooking and baking are tough jobs, but you are so talented and I think that they are your passion.

Keep those flowers planted like you do. Why could I never have a green thumb? I owned a fern once, but the darn fern did not quite succeed.

Drink that iced tea as it really is healthy. Do you prepare fried potato wedges like I used to prepare for you? Fried potato wedges may not be too healthy, but hey, when money is tight and you have a bag of potatoes?

OK mother Rose, I love you so much. Just remember… You are a lady.

Hugs.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Leiann Lynn Rose Spontaneo

Studied Political Science at Duquesne University.

Highest Honors Graduate in Fitness and Nutrition from Stratford Career Institute.

Her future plans are to become an aromatherapist to help people with their ailments using essential oils.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.