Families logo

Moms Night Out

What do you do when you need mom time?

By Ashlee GrantPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Do you hide in a bathroom or do you call a babysitter and spend the night out? Sometimes I hide in the bathroom, lol. When I do get a babysitter and go out, I usually go to a bar, but I have always wondered what it would be like to go to dinner and a movie with myself. I have never thought about what it would be like to enjoy some actual time to myself. When I do go out to the bar, I go with one of my best friends, who is also a mom, and we really enjoy the time out. We talk and have conversations and laugh, it is really enjoyable and what a mom’s night out is really about. Hiding in the bathroom is not the way to have time alone, doing something that makes you happy during your time away from your kids is what a mom’s night is all about.

Being a mom is tough, but it is the most rewarding feeling in the world. I’m not sure what I would do without my baby, even she can be a pain in the butt sometimes. That’s why we have kids though, right? We have kids so we can love them even when they drive us nuts. We have kids because it’s the best feeling in the world and because we want to have a family. Sometimes we lose sight of what’s really important about life and needing that mom time is part of what’s important in life. Being a mom is the most important thing in my life and so was having a family, but having a family was cut short when my daughters dad didn’t want to be in her life. I quickly realized that the family I would have would be my daughter and I. The greatest families of all don’t always have to be a mother and a father, sometimes it’s just a mother and her child. Sometimes it might be the grandparents and the child, there could be all types of families and families come in all shapes and sizes. No matter what, the acceptance of family doesn’t always have to come from the typical norm family of a mother and a father but rather from the thought that the child is well loved and cared for.

So, how did I come to terms with being a single mom?

Well, I didn’t. I just simply did it. I made sure my child was loved and knew that she had a family that loved and supported her no matter what. A child is the most precious gift and if you let the fact that you are not the typical norm family define you, it may just be what keeps you from being the best parent you can be. We don’t have kids to resent them, we have kids to have a family and love them, no matter what kind of family it may be. If having a mom’s night out every once in a while, is what helps you be a better mom, then so it does. No mother should feel guilty for going out and being away from your child. I mean, you don’t feel guilty when you got to work because you are doing what’s best for your child by being able to support them. Your child will never hate or resent you for having your own life outside of being a mom. Start dating again or do something that can be an outlet for you. I started a blog and being in quarantine has made me realize that I need to make more time for myself and my blog. Taking this time in turn helps me to be the best mom I can be because I have had some time to be away and in turn not let all the aggravation build up until it turns into more.

single
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.