Families logo

Mom!

Missing Mom!

By Christina SeawoodPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2
Love Mom!

Have you ever walked into a room and just felt like something was off? Well that's how I felt on that unusually hot October day when I came home to find my mom lifeless in her bed and my kitten Bagheera not waiting at the top of the steps like he normally does every day. My spirit told me that something wasn't right that day went from bright and sunny on the outside to dark and gloomy on the inside, as a matter of fact the energy in the whole room went from bright and sunny like it is usually too dark and gloomy in a matter of seconds, and there began the rest of my life.

Before I begin the story of how I lost my mom, Let me take you back to a memory of her that I hold so dear to my heart. Do you smell that sweet aroma of the food on the grill? The burgers, steaks, and chicken. Does it bring back memories from a family gathering? Well it does for me seeing a woman standing over a grill with short black curly hair, who happens to be my mother cooking up a feast while watching her children me and my two brothers playing with the sprinklers in the backyard of our childhood home. Our little feet running through the wet grass on a very hot and sunny day playing with chalk on the sidewalk filled with joy and laughter.

Even though we didn't have much my mom knew how to make anything fun for us, and she didn't need money to do it. She was one of those moms who could make a game out of milk crates and balled up papers because that's the type of person she was she always knew how to keep a smile on our faces and keep us laughing.

And that was one of the many amazing memories I have of her before her untimely death, which happened 12 years ago on October 3, 2011, That was the day I felt my whole world crumble from underneath my feet. I could say that day was bittersweet for me because that was also the day I met the President of the United States, at the time it was former president Barack Obama. I assumed that I was going home to tell my mom the most exciting news ever only to come home and experience the worst pain I ever felt, finding my mom dead at 15 and being alone while doing so, we were new to the neighborhood and did not know any of our neighbors. We had just celebrated he 36th birthday on the 20th of September, and she passed away 13 days after.

That day changed the course of my life forever, I began to see the world and everything and one in it differently sometimes in a good way sometimes in a bad way. I miss her every second, minute, and hour of every day. Every year on her birthday and the death of her anniversary I get balloons to write messages on, I also tape flowers on them and release them. I will end this by saying continue to cherish your loved ones while they're still here because you never know when you will have to say goodbye. 

True story about Christina Seawood no fiction all facts from the heart I'm living proof that even when you get hurt life goes on and so does this story this is not the end this is only the beginning of the story of my life and what made me the woman I am today.

children
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • TRADITION SAID!10 months ago

    I loved it!Looking forward to more from you keep going!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.