Families logo

Mars Bar

Part one of a short story series I'm doing about my brother.

By Stephanie WatsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
This is Roll Kuchen, and it is best served with watermelon.

Thunder boomed as lightning streaked the sky while large water droplets fell. Whistling winds hissed around the house, but nothing either than the smell of cinnamon buns could arouse us.

Bailee and Tiana, my cousins, led the way upstairs to the kitchen where their brother Joshua already had a plate. My brother Stevan was sitting at the table laughing his head off at something he saw in his bowl. Bailee handed me a plate, and I started filling it with fruit Josh had taken three cinnamon buns leaving none for me.

After breakfast, my cousins went to play on the computer in my Papa's study while Stevan went to the basement.

Static came from the old tv in the basement, and I heard a click as a VHS tape went in. Stevan had chosen to watch his favourite movie, The Parent Trap, and fast forwarded to when Dennis Quaid fell into the pool.

I curled up on the couch with my favourite book. Laughter bubbled inside me when Mr Collins proposed to Elizabeth Bennet. It never gets old, no matter how many times I read it.

Around noon my grandma began cooking summer borscht for lunch, the cabbage never smelt better. Papa came in and kissed my grandma on the cheek before going to the garage to work on his boat.

"I'm going to the bathroom," hollered my grandma for the house to hear her.

The woman was blind, but the house would fall to pieces without her, and we all knew it.

My ears perked when I heard Stevan climbing the stairs and peered over the half-door to the basement. With a silly grin, he opened it, and without making a sound, he tiptoed across the hardwood floor into the kitchen. It blew me away how he stepped over the creaky spot and made it to the counter, where he climbed on top and surveyed the area.

I smothered a laugh as he leaned forward and opened the chocolate bar cupboard. He removed the chocolate bar container and snuck a family size Mars bar. Then as if he hadn't been there, he put everything back and opened his chocolate bar as he tiptoed back downstairs.

Twenty seconds later, my grandma returned and continued cooking lunch.

"Food is ready," grandma announced.

Everyone ran into the kitchen and grabbed bowls as well as a small plate with some veggies.

We assembled around the table and slurped up our borscht, trying not to make a mess. The cabbage splashed a little, but the pieces were so satisfying to bite into.

"I have roll kuchen and watermelon for dessert," grandma said in a sing-songy voice.

"Yes! I have been craving those," said Bailee and Tiana.

"I saw her making them this morning," stated Joshua.

"There are spies everywhere I see," grandma remarked.

She looked around, and Stevan shared a secret smile with me while the others finished their veggies.

Joshua brought the dessert around with more plates, and I hastily sunk my teeth into a slice of watermelon.

Red juice ran down everyone's faces that we soaked up with fried dough. Stevan mushed his watermelon around his plate and kept eyeing the chocolate bar cupboard.

"Hey grandma, after, dinner can we have a chocolate bar," said Tiana?

"We shall see, my darling."

Bailee and I finished eating, then put our plates in the dishwasher and went to play computer games. Stevan came with us and laughed whenever the game said "you lose" or "you win". After a while, he got bored and returned to his movie.

Sunshine came pouring in for an hour before setting. We heard grandma go into the kitchen and begin cooking, which filled the house with a garlic aroma.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie Watson

Writing allows me to share a small part of the worlds in my head and bring them to life. I hope my future readers enjoy them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.