Families logo

Letter To My Dad

Context; My Dad passed away in 2018 from a failed Liver caused by Alcoholism. It will be 3 Years in August 2021 - I feel the need to write to him.

By Rainbows Have Nothing To HidePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Dad,

It will be 3 Years in August from the day you finally got rest, to be honest I am quite glad you went when you did, 2020 was a horror story the world was living. COVID-19 has taken so many lives, so where you are must feel quite busy. I keep finding myself wondering how you would be in this situation, knowing your Daughter works within the public unit so I am more at risk working with the public, although work hasn't exsisted in the last 2 months but that's another letter. I keep thinking you would probably make a joke about finding a bunker somewhere and saying it will be like I am Legend, you would have been careful for Nan's sake but it would drive you mad if you had to quantine with her and knowing you wouldn't have been able to see James and I. It's tough. Really tough, but others in the world/country have it worse. I am lucky I have Mum. You have missed so much, Olly and I are still a couple and going strong although I now live back with Mum and Olly lives with his parents again, no argument involved but I had an opporunity that I just had to take and Olly... well Olly fell out with the landlady and had enough (which I am not surprised about) We are both well despite the rapid COVID-19 cases in the area. Although because we live seperatly we cannot see eachother - that's hard, not being able to be with your partner is annoying and frustrating. As you are probably aware Grandad Ron passed away - he was just coming up to his 92nd birthday, you've probably had so many conversations with him (please say hi for me) I moved in and kept his lovely house warm while Mum put it on the market, it was wonderful having my own space, somewhere I could just do what I wanted, sing what I wanted, eat what I wanted. Then the house sold and Christmas happened. So I am back where I started, which don't get me wrong is wonderful, I am not alone and I am happy but I do miss my own space, not bothered by someone asking me to do the dishwasher or washing or even housework. I miss being able to do stuff like in my own time and not being judged because I haven't done it straight away. Anyway it shouldn't be long before I am in my OWN house. Thanks to you by the way - You have given James and I the best gift in helping us get on the property ladder, it would have been impossible without you. Obviously we would much rather have you in our lives, to be able to just pick up the phone and speak with you, or knowing you will be walking me down the ilse (one day) but the thought of knowing it was you that helped me buy my own house is just as special.

This letter is mainly a way for me to voice my stream of thoughts and that I miss you every second of every day. It is Comforting for me to know that you do watch over me but please give me a little good luck in the next couple of days, I need it. For my own wellbeing and sleeping habits, I need some good luck and good news from you. My guardian angel.

So yeah please send me good vibes for tomorrow and Wednesday, I will see you in my dreams.

Love you loads.

Your Bumblebee.

xo

parents
Like

About the Creator

Rainbows Have Nothing To Hide

25 Years in the making, budding author. Expect posts on life, love, relationships and parts of the novel I am working on. I like being ghost, write about what you want to and people actually are interested.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.