Families logo

Leave the Geese Alone

A Birthday Note

By Gala Valeria SandovalPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dad and I back in the day

Fast as hell is little to say, I had never seen anybody run as fast as my dad did when he saw my brother fall into a nearby lake. But I should back up a little...

During a family trip to Ecuador, where my dad's family is from - we found ourselves spending the day at my uncle Leo's house. His house was hard to miss, It was surrounded by beautiful land, the kinda land that almost makes you frolic. It was definitely a family affair and by that I mean it felt like our entire family was there. A big group formed outside by the house while the kids (including myself) played down by the hill - where a family of geese happen to live. When the sound of wine glasses and loud laughs approached, us kids took that as our go. My cousins and brother ran wild while I stood just a little farther from them because of my fear of birds or more like because birds hate me.

My cousin, Connor started bothering the geese and of course my then way younger brother tagged along (not that he wouldn't now) , this led to one of the geese chasing my cousin around the lake. It was terrifying, that bird had evil eyes but I guess with good reason - leave the grease alone, my brother then followed by making loud noises but luckily no geese attack. My other cousin ran up the hill while we stayed behind, I maybe looked away for five seconds and within that time my brother had fallen into this very hollow lake, him not knowing how to swim yet - I yelled, loud.

At that moment I saw my father ascend from the top of the hill, wearing a white extremely heavy looking poncho with a wine glass in hand. I swear from where I was it looked like the man was flying plus the sun was beaming at us - he was a superhero. As fast as he could he jumped in that lake, water hitting him hard and wine glass disappearing, he swam to my brother and scooped him up. Carrying my brother through the water would set the example of a long lasting lesson my dad favored, Strength.

Your strength, Babbu, never goes unnoticed. You never let me leave the house while I was growing up without telling me to be aware of absolutely everything, some may say that can create paranoia but opposite. I was always aware and always safe and by that my friends were also. Teaching me to be strong and capable of anything is my most favored gift you could have ever given me. When I saw you run down that hill all I could think is my dad is a freaking superhero, nothing can stop him. You comforted my brother and dried him off then looked at me, I was a little nervous from seeing him fall in and have in mind that as a child I was very fearful of things - you said to never let the water scare me and if I knew I could swim nothing would happen. I had always wished I jumped in that lake but from then out your little girl would be incredibly strong and never scared of a little water.

This last year has been difficult but you have risen gracefully. I don't have a doubt in mind that you won't shine and lead in the way you have taught us all to lead in your new path. You never let me forget my strength and when you're down I won't let you forget yours.

Happy Birthday Babbu, love you

parents
Like

About the Creator

Gala Valeria Sandoval

@galasandoval @butterandtoastforyou

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.