Families logo

It's a GAMER!

I blend IN

By Hernán ArteagaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s a gamer was the kids’ argument to convince the parent to hire me. To bring me into their house. And actually, that was enough for them.

The parents spend time looking the perfect candidate for this position as nanny/manny for their house. With my arrival, everything for them was just perfect.

Before we spend around 3 days on video calls for the interviews. Also, there was other people interested in this job so they are looking for the right candidate.

On December, just a few days before Christmas eve. I went to their house for a more formal interview, face to face. The kids were there, anxious about it. The best is about to come, when one of the kids ask me what was my favourited thing to do, i said, “VIDEO GAMES”.

Magic word that one “VIDEO GAMES!”

They start asking me for my favourite game, what console i use to play with or if i have my own computer because they all have Minecraft, obviously for me to join.

Since that day they just relax. Was easier for me to blend in the house, in the family. To be part of them, to share, to enjoy family and nanny time with every member or the house.

Is also part of my job to give screen time. I also like kids that spend time outside, playing with friends, or doing some arts. Not juts screens all day every day of our life.

Is a tool that i use to gain the child interest. Is not also my only passion but is always good to know everything about anything.

Kids are in so many things this day, is my part just to learn about all this. To match their preferences. Making my way to build a better workplace for me.

Is been 8 months now since I’m in this house. And very month i actually ask to myself if I’ll be ready to go one day. Is hard to leave a family behind, but also is part of this learning process. Is part of what i want to become now.

Childcare is now what i want to be involve. This new carer just woke up the guy inside of me with some kind of parenting feelings. I love my kids and i love the way they spend time with me. Telling me I’m part of this family every meal. Especially when the mother have a breakdown when the house is all messy and dirty. Even when i clean every day and hoover that carpet every time the cat spends hours in there.

Don’t be afraid, be yourself in that house. They want you to be that other person they can relied on. Parents are away from home almost all day. So juts be that little bridge between you and their kids every day.

I enjoy been myself, and the things i do every day for them. So YES, is going to be very hard to leave. But is also my responsibility to leave one day. I can’t stay forever. I can stay the necessary time.

Leaving behind good memories and pictures. Nice travels around the country. Some teaching and also some learnings. Because we all are going to learn something from all this, i can tell you that.

Sharing my memories will help me to always be the person i want to be for others. The MANNY want to be for them and the teacher i want to be for you.

I always said that moving to a house is a lot of things to deal with. They are not family and for the first day you are juts the nanny/manny. Settle in nicely and easy, kids can be very judgemental on your first day, even with your first meal.

children
Like

About the Creator

Hernán Arteaga

The London Manny!

Instg: TheLondonManny

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.