Families logo

In Memoriam

Paid for by whom it represents

By Tony GarciaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

When I was 20, my grandmother on my dad’s side passed away. I spent my birthday driving from Nebraska back home to Illinois for the funeral the following day. My grandma was easily my biggest supporter in life. At the time, I was in college majoring in music performance on the saxophone. As a part of this degree, I was required to learn the piano and had a year and a half of this study under my belt. Second to the saxophone, my grandma loved listening to me play piano. When she passed, I knew I wanted a dual meaning tattoo; one to showcase my love of music but also one that I could use to memorialize my grandma in some way. I spent weeks image searching potential saxophone, piano, and general music tattoo ideas because I was blanking on a design of my own. I already had a music one I’d designed myself but there wasn’t a way to incorporate it or add a design to help remember my grandma. I finally decided on the heartbeat that blends into piano keys. The more I thought about this one, the more I appreciated how it would showcase my love for music and I considered how I could incorporate some reminder of my grandma into it. I decided on simply inscribing her birthday onto one of the piano keys. I realized that, the more keys I used, the more I could use the tattoo to remember all my grandparents. Once I decided on the tattoo, I was itching to get it done. However, being in school full time, I didn’t have a job or any significant income. My grandma was my main source of money my freshman and sophomore years of college as I never needed much due to living and eating on campus. The longer I waited, the more impatient I got. Then, one day, I received a call from my dad. He explained that I would be receiving a check in a few days for $1,000. The money had come from an unexpected and unknown insurance policy that my grandma had in her name that had suddenly become available. I knew immediately that part of that money would be perfect to finally get the tattoo done. I still find it ironic, but also very fitting, that my grandmother was still somehow able to finance a tattoo that would memorialize her after she’d passed.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Tony Garcia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.