Families logo

I Was Suppose To Be Born Yesterday

“Oh no!”, Cat The Calf Didn’t Make The Challenge

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Best Pet Ever

The old warn down barn , needed a few boards. I was hoping to get to that in the summer ,but a lot happened.

“Hi, I’m a farmhand, also known as Kitty.”

On a cold windy eve. I was called down to the barn. Nestled behind a hole in the cement walls, I watched a beautiful miracle happen.

Mother cow, also known to me as Sophie, was ready to deliver her baby calf. Although I was hiding in and amongst the cobwebs of spiders, excitement was the only thing on my mind.

Wow, it was like one, two and three and the most beautiful female calf was born. Leaving momma Sophie, licking her baby clean. I still hid behind the wall, it was amazing how quickly the calf stood and in no time at all was bonding with mom. One day late but they looked great.

Feeling. Creepy

The old barn had always creeped me out. Many an evening after milking the cows, I thought I heard a voice or two. Looking around and finding nothing, well it was creepy.

By Courtney Smith on Unsplash

“Kitty,Kitty”. Okay now I had to do some investigation. The only person that knew I was down there was Lance the other farmhand , Mary the wife of Tim who owned the barn. Of course Sophie and her baby.

Quickly the lights started to flicker, looking at the calf she looked content.

Slowly I took the shovel in one hand and flashlight in the other. I became detective Kitty and I was going to figure out what was going on.

I went down on my knees and crawled around, still hearing my name. I had to stop and shake myself off.

My name was coming from the other side of the barn, I know I looked like a cat crawling down on all fours. It was easier this way so no one could see me, or did they?

Closer And Closer

I kept real close to the floor, ready for action. “No one was going to scare me, no I was ready for anything that came near me.”

Still hearing my name, than a chuckle, chuckle. I stopped in my tracks. Who was this and why were they trying to scare me?

“Oh No!” “It’s a mouse”

The poor thing was so small and I was just acting like a baby. Wow, that could have been worse.

Collecting my thoughts, fixing myself up a bit,I was ready to find out who was calling my name.

To be honest with you at this point I was getting pretty frustrated.

Than all of a sudden I looked up, stood up with my shovel in one hand. The flashlight in the other. And there was.........

“Farmer Tim?”

I looked surprise, he looked surprised to see me on the ground and stand up looking like I was going to fight.

We laughed and laughed, than I found out he was just looking for his big Kitty Cat.

We found her, soon to have her babies ,he wanted to take her up to the house to stay warm.

Too much for one night.

Looking over at Sophia fast asleep, I looked in on her new baby. What a sweet little girl. It was love at first sight. The more I was looking at her, all that came to mind was Tim looking for his Cat.

That was it, I decided to name this sweet little calf “Cat”. Right when I went to tell her, she gave me a big lick on my face. I think she liked her name? What do you think?

children
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.