Families logo

How I Found Relief for My Psoriatic Arthritis with Red Light Therapy

By Abigail Smith

By health wayPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have been living with psoriatic arthritis (PsA) for over 10 years. PsA is a type of inflammatory arthritis that affects some people who have psoriasis, a chronic skin condition that causes red, scaly patches on the skin. PsA can cause pain, stiffness, swelling, and damage in the joints, tendons, and ligaments. PsA can also affect other parts of the body, such as the eyes, nails, spine, and heart.

PsA is a progressive disease, which means it can get worse over time if left untreated. Therefore, it is important to diagnose and treat PsA as early as possible to prevent irreversible joint damage and disability. One of the tools that doctors use to diagnose and monitor PsA is x ray.

X ray is a type of imaging test that uses a small amount of radiation to create pictures of the inside of the body. X rays can show the structure and shape of the bones and joints, as well as any changes or abnormalities that may indicate PsA.

I have had many x rays over the years, and they have shown me the extent of the damage that PsA has done to my body. I have seen how my joints have become narrowed, eroded, deformed, and fused due to PsA. I have seen how my spine has become inflamed, stiff, and hunched due to PsA. I have seen how my tendons and ligaments have become inflamed, damaged, and calcified due to PsA.

X rays have helped me understand my condition, but they have also made me feel hopeless and depressed. X rays have shown me the structural changes or damage that have already occurred in my bones and joints due to PsA, but they have not shown me the inflammation, which is the main cause of pain and damage in PsA. X rays have not shown me the severity or activity of PsA, or how well the treatment is working. X rays have not shown me the way to heal or reverse the damage that PsA has done to my body.

I have tried many treatments for PsA, such as medication, exercise, physiotherapy, and diet, but none of them have given me the relief and improvement that I was looking for. I have experienced many side effects and complications from the medication, such as nausea, headache, liver damage, and infection. I have struggled to exercise and do physiotherapy, due to the pain, stiffness, and reduced mobility of my joints. I have felt frustrated and restricted by the diet, due to the many foods that I had to avoid or limit.

I was about to give up and accept my fate, when I discovered a natural and effective treatment for PsA, that changed my life for the better. It is called red light therapy, and it is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level light therapy to alleviate painful symptoms of PsA. By emitting red and near-infrared light wavelengths that penetrate deep into the connective tissue and joints, this therapy can reduce inflammation and stimulate tissue regeneration.

Red light therapy works by activating the mitochondria, which are the energy-producing units of the cells. By increasing the cellular energy, infrared red light therapy can enhance the healing and repair processes of the damaged tissues. Red light therapy can also modulate the immune system and reduce the production of inflammatory cytokines, which are the chemical messengers that cause pain and swelling in PsA.

Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to be an effective treatment for PsA. For example, a randomized controlled trial published in 2020 found that red light therapy significantly improved pain, stiffness, function, and quality of life in patients with PsA, compared to a placebo group. Another study published in 2019 found that red light therapy reduced pain and inflammation, and increased range of motion and grip strength, in patients with PsA, compared to a control group.

Red light therapy has many benefits for PsA, such as:

It is safe and natural, with no side effects or risks.

It is painless and comfortable, with no heat or discomfort.

It is convenient and easy to use, with no need for drugs or injections.

It is cost-effective and affordable, with no need for frequent visits to the doctor or clinic.

One of the best ways to use red light therapy for PsA is to use a red light therapy belt. A red light therapy belt is a device that wraps around the affected area, such as the knee, elbow, or wrist, and delivers red and near-infrared light directly to the joint. A red light therapy belt can provide fast and lasting relief for PsA, as well as improve the joint function and mobility.

I have been using a red light wrap for over a year now, and I can say that it has made a huge difference in my life. I use it every day, for about 15 minutes, on the areas that are most affected by PsA. I also combine it with other treatments, such as medication, exercise, and physiotherapy, to enhance the results.

Since I started using red light therapy, I have noticed a significant improvement in my symptoms and quality of life. I have less pain and inflammation, and more range of motion and grip strength. I have more energy and stamina, and less fatigue and depression. I have more confidence and optimism, and less fear and anxiety.

Red light therapy has helped me cope better with PsA, and improve my well-being and happiness. It has given me hope and motivation, and a new perspective on life. It has shown me that there is a way to heal and reverse the damage that PsA has done to my body, and that I can live a normal and fulfilling life.

If you are suffering from PsA, or know someone who is, I highly recommend that you try red light therapy. It may be the best thing that you ever do for yourself or your loved one. You have nothing to lose, and everything to gain. Trust me, you will not regret it.

Thank you for reading my story, and I hope that it has inspired you and helped you in some way. If you have any questions, comments, or feedback, please feel free to share them with me. I would love to hear from you and help you further. Thank you for your time and attention.

humanityhow tochildrenadviceadoption
Like

About the Creator

health way

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.