Families logo

Here we go again...

Oh boy...

By Thavien YliasterPublished about a year ago 6 min read
3
Here we go again...
Photo by Alin Surdu on Unsplash

07 April 2023, Friday. The time's currently at 21:01. I write this story to bring to You, the audience, hopefully a moment of laughter at my own pain administered by someone that I've grown to cherish over the years.

"Enough with the dramatic nonsensical talking. Get to the gist of it already."

Alright, fine if You're in that much of a hurry. Last evening I arrived to my parent's home to visit them for the Easter holiday. This morning my younger sibling arrived in tow with a muscular friend. So, after they pulled into the driveway, walked into the house, I hugged my younger sibling (Y.S.) and shook hands with the muscular friend (M.F.).

While my Y.S. took care of personal business, the M.F. and I went to workout at the gym. It was fun jamming out in the car to Mercy. Oh yeah, we rapped the lyrics. When it's that good of a song, You sort of has to as a form of paying tribute to it. Then we listened to Mercy, Face Off, and Wheels of Motion.

Yeah, I'mma tell ya' this, M.F. knows how to lift some weights. Even though there was no competition, based upon our physical strengths, there was no competition. I may beat M.F. when it comes to running, but M.F.'s weight lifting regime is insane. M.F.'s pretty goated when it comes to arms and chest day. So, when Y.S. arrived later after we had practically finished up our workout. I was almost finishing stretching. So, indulging in my Y.S., we jogged a few laps and worked out a little bit more. You know, just a few planks and chin-ups here and there. Heck the ceiling was so short I moved a few tiles with my head when I did a few muscle-ups and pullovers. It was not ideal. We left after that.

After we got back home, we showered up, and went out to eat. From there I went to mall to get a nice haircut. As mom always says, "Don't get Your haircut the day before. You need time to let it grow out and appear natural again."

After getting a super-duper fresh haircut with all the fancy fixings (they even did up my facial hair pretty nicely) I walked into my Y.S. and the M.F. watching a show that my Y.S. has been recently obsessed with on Netflix. The T.V. show I'm referring to about here is known as "Love Is Blind." After getting acknowledged on my new hairdoo, I went to the shower to rinse off all the excess hair and to hopefully remove the burning sensations from my face, head, and neck.

When I returned I was not prepared for the consequences of my Y.S.'s misguided leadership. Though my body was more than capable of the task at hand, nevertheless, it was agony.

Oh, shut up dude. You got the calories to burn and a nice place to watch a nice show at. You're seriously only dealing with problems that You're allowing to make for Yourself.

Quiet, subconscious thoughts. Your comedic timing is granted, but please refer from interloping as little as possible.

Chillax, You know the audience loves me.

Yeah, but that doesn't mean that I always love You. Goodness, I really should've not taken those childhood cartoons so literally as a youngster. You see an angel on one shoulder and a demon on the other and You start imagining that Your counterintuitive thoughts have a life of their very own living inside of Your head.

That's what You get for being blessed with creativity, numbskull. Only way to get rid of me is to type. Heh heh ha! Drain that brain and release that rage unto the page!

Back to our scheduled program. So, as I type this while we're all currently taking a break, there's still 16 minutes left of Season 4 Episode 2. I walked into this episode a lot earlier to find them making up rules for what they're doing.

Oh, fyi, when I arrived home from the barber shop I found out that my Y.S. finally had their second friend get home. Just like me, the second friend's an anime nerd (A.N.). While I helped out A.N. get some extra lighting for A.N.'s heavy reading for a finance class, I get back upstairs to find my Y.S. and Y.S.'s M.F. doing squats. Apparently somebody said the word "like" to many times, and that's the trigger word for squats (cause M.F. hates lunges more than squats).

It's 10 push-ups for "love."

It was originally 5 squats for "like," but then we changed it from 5 to 10 for the wordss "feel" and "feeling" (my younger sibling stated that the past tense, "felt" doesn't count).

And last but not least 10 leg raises for "energy" and "vibes."

Do not turn this into a drinking game unless You want to absolutely destroy Your liver and get put on a wait list for kidney transplants.

"Sounds about right." - T.Y's Y.S.' friend

"If this was an actual drinking game, we'd all be dead." - T.Y.'s Y.S.

Then our parents arrived home, and dad nearly busted his gut from laughing as he saw us get into an instant set of squats and hearing us groan as more squats were added on top. Mom walked into the room after parking the vehicle (I had to move mine), and told Y.S. and I that "You two have clean laundry in fresh baskets. Chop. Chop." As Y.S. and I went to reach for the laundry baskets we had to stop cause a series of 30 squats was hastily delivered unto us as one guy proposed to a woman.

Listen, we thought we made a smart decision by swapping the word "like" to the words "feels," "feeling," and "feelings." It was, cause the word "like" was dropped more times than an allergic person sporadically sneezing at the turn of spring.

I did leg day on Wednesday, and M.F. had done leg day on Tuesday. It was not fun. When M.F. sat down on the couch after quickly busting out a set of 10, somebody on the show said the word "feel" two more times and M.F. had another 20 to do. I laughed too loud that night.

Why Y.S. upped the number from 5 squats to 10 is beyond me. Still, we finished the episode after what seemed like an eternity, and I didn't finish typing this article till 04/08/2023 cause I was busy hanging out with the fam and friends watching "Home Economics." Last evening was filled with laughs.

Time 17:17.

Peace.

tv reviewsiblingspop cultureparentshumanity
3

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred4 months ago

    That was great fun and sorry I missed it first time but you got a read from me now, hopefully

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    You definitely got a work-out!!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    funny story..... interesting to read..........

  • 😆Nice read❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.