Families logo

Father Figure

Not enough fathers, too many figures

By Lourdes RiosPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

Dear fathers, you have taught me that I only need 1 father, that is the Lord himself.

Growing up there was only a mother and “father figures.” Technically speaking, I have 3. My biological father, adopted father, and my stepfather.

My biological father, Rodney Washington was never around much. In all honesty, I do not know this person, I just have features that are similar to him. I have reached out to this person on multiple occasions and vice versa. But still to this day I do not know this man. I am now 23 and its too late for me and him. My mother was all I could have ever needed. I did not need more or less, but I always appreciated what was given.

More than anything, I appreciate the father that wanted to be there for me and my family. My adopted father, Ramon Luis Rios. He has been everything I needed in my life to know what a true man looks like. This person came into my mother’s life and cared for me and my brother as if we were his own. He wanted us to have his last name and we accepted. I wouldn’t have it any other way. He will always be my father, but because of the problems in my mothers and his relationship, they split up. To this day I always thought they would come together, they were inseparable. They had so much love for each other and I had so much love for them and their relationship. Even though relationships have their moments and they’re not always perfect, still It was beautiful.

My current stepfather.. is a Leo. I’m being funny but it still says a lot. He can be a good person, but he holds too much pride. Which isn’t always a bad thing but for him and some other Leo’s (no offense to the Leo’s) It can be excessive. My stepfather is a little younger than my mom. Which for me was problematic, at a young age he was old enough to be my brother not my stepfather. He was and still is too handsy and had no respect for boundaries. This always made me uncomfortable, this isn’t the person I want or expect my mother to be with. But at the end of the day they have a child together. Not that it should mean anything, but it does for them and some people. But to each their own.

I hope this goes to show, that even without a father, it’s not all bad. I’ve had the figures to show me something, and teach me in one way or another. But I have a father greater than any father out there. That is the Lord himself, he has guided me and put me on this path to learn something, and to grow from my experiences. My mother was all I needed physically, and the Lord, my father was always with me spiritually.

parents
2

About the Creator

Lourdes Rios

To be or not to be..

Creating like there is no tomorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.