Families logo

Falling into freedom: Overcoming Fear and Gaining Confidence on Two Wheels

A story of Determination and Encouragement from a Young Village Boy and His Brother

By Evuka Ozioma Published 6 months ago 4 min read
1
Falling into freedom: Overcoming Fear and Gaining Confidence on Two Wheels
Photo by Alexander Shustov on Unsplash

As a young child growing up in a small village, I was eager to learn how to ride a bicycle. Many of my friends had already started going on errands with their bicycles, and I longed to join them. Whenever our family bicycle was not in use, my elder brother would guide me in my attempts to learn how to ride.

At first, it was a daunting task. I fell down often, and it seemed like I would never be able to balance on two wheels. But my brother was patient and encouraging, holding the bicycle for me to mount and then running alongside me as I pedaled. It was a thrilling experience, and I felt like I was making progress with each attempt.

However, my brother had a trick up his sleeve. As a way to help me learn, he would sometimes let go of the bicycle without me realizing it. I would be pedaling along, feeling confident, when suddenly I would look back and see that my brother was far behind me. Panic would set in, and I would start to wobble. And then, inevitably, I would crash.

At first, these crashes were terrifying. I was filled with fear and anxiety, and I wondered if I would ever be able to ride a bicycle without falling. But my brother was always there to pick me up and encourage me to keep trying. And the more I fell, the more determined I became to succeed.

Slowly but surely, I started to gain confidence. I learned how to balance on two wheels, how to steer, and how to brake. And then, one day, it all came together. I was able to ride the bicycle all the way down the road without falling. The wind was in my hair, and I felt like I was flying. The joy was indescribable.

But my journey as a bicycle rider had only just begun. I soon realized that there was more to it than just pedaling and balancing. I had to learn the rules of the road and how to navigate the local pathways. This presented a new set of challenges.

In our village, the rule was to ride on the right side of the road to avoid collisions with other riders. This simple rule became a source of confusion and anxiety for me. I would often find myself swerving between the right and left sides of the road, unsure of where I should be. My brother, who had mastered this rule long ago, patiently explained it to me and helped me practice.

The fear of oncoming vehicles was another hurdle to overcome. The village roads were narrow, and the occasional cars or motorcycles would send shivers down my spine. I vividly remember the first time I encountered an oncoming vehicle. In a moment of panic, I veered off the road and into a bush to make way for the vehicle. It was a comical sight, and on lookers couldn't help but laugh at my reaction. My brother and my parents reassured me that with time, I would become more confident in sharing the road with other vehicles.

With my brother's guidance, I gradually learned to ride on the right side of the road, and my fear of oncoming vehicles began to subside. It was a process of trial and error, and I had my fair share of close calls and near-misses. But every mistake was a lesson learned, and I was determined to become a responsible and confident rider.

As the days turned into weeks and months, my bicycle became my trusted companion. I rode to visit friends and on errands for my family. The bicycle gave me a newfound sense of freedom and independence.

Looking back on those early days, I realized that learning to ride a bicycle was not just about mastering a new skill; it was about facing my fears, pushing myself to try new things, and learning to trust in my own abilities. It was about the patience and encouragement of my elder brother, who taught me the ropes and helped me overcome the challenges I faced on the road.

The lessons I learned from those experiences have stayed with me throughout my life. They have taught me the value of perseverance, the importance of guidance and support from loved ones, and the ability to adapt to new situations. Riding a bicycle in my small village was not just a childhood rite of passage; it was a journey of growth and self-discovery that shaped me into the person I am today.

In the end, it wasn't just about learning to ride a bicycle; it was about learning to ride through life with confidence, courage, and the knowledge that, no matter how many times you fall, you can always pick yourself up and keep moving forward.

childrensiblingsimmediate familyhumanityfact or fictionadvice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Evuka Ozioma (Author)6 months ago

    Determination is the key point in achieving your goal.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.