Families logo

Do you remember "Gilmore Girls"?

If you don't remember you are too young for this article...

By for my mental healthPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I was a kid, I used to stay up late, maybe play my DS (lite) and watch the late night shows on nickelodeon...

If George Lopez was not on, I was stuck watching Gilmore Girls... so I thought. I started to really like it, it was a very wholesome/hallmark show but with better acting.

I would try to get my sister to watch it with me and she wouldn't. Now this is later on in our lives, late teens and she said, "why, that show is not that good...?"

I would have to disagree, I enjoy the show very much. Now that I am watching it for the third time, I feel that I know the show well enough to state my opinion on it.

The show starts off very chaotic but also heart warming. A mother and daughter in a small town, just trying to find their way through life. They are always so optimistic and funny. It really makes you want to be their friend.

Everyone in town knows both of the daughters and they always go to the one diner in town that has food. They are "always" eating and I am so envious of them. They seem happy for the most part when a few obstacles pop up and they need to figure out what to do next.

Now this is not meant to be a review on the show Gilmore Girls.

It is more of a, "I am trying to figure out why I like is so much compared to other shows article."

Maybe it is because, it reminds me of my youth or childhood. Maybe because it is so cute and heart warming that it is so hard not to watch. Or maybe it is because it is about a mother and daughter relationship.

Now I love my mother to death, I will die for that woman. She has done so much for me in my life that I don't know how I will ever repay her. Here's the thing, I never felt like my mom was my best friend. It always felt like she was a parental figure and I was the child.

I think this is definitely a reason, that I need to go to therapy, maybe... But I never had that best friend relationship with my mom. I am not trying to be harsh at all but my mom was always my parent. Now, "do I wish to have a better relationship, later on down the line?" OF COURSE! I want that relationship with her but everything takes times.

I think I like the show so much because I am so envious about the mother/daughter relationship in Gilmore Girls. They are "best friends." I wish that I had that.

Now let's go back to the basics...

When I was a kid, I was always the big sister, even when I was 3 years old. Immediately, I was a big kid, even though I was still growing up myself.

Which in the long run, it gets the kid to do things on their own, but deep down I wonder if I had resentment towards my parents...

Now it felt like my mom was being a parent, when it came to me but when it came to my sister, it felt like she was my sisters best friend. I don't wish negativity towards them, I am glad one of us got that relationship. But it does make me feel a different way towards my mom...

It always felt like my mom and sister would gang up on me when we talked about stuff. It always felt like it was 2 vs 1. Now I am not sure how I am supposed to tell my mom any of this but it makes me pretty sad to think about sometimes.

On the bright side of things, I am so close with my dad. He is my best friend, I am forsure a dad's little girl. I can count on him for anything and everything. My dad is the best!

I think that is why I watch the show, it shows me something that I wish I had with my mom but I don't think I will ever get. But is that why I have my girls that are friends compared to boyfriends? Is that why I always cherish my friendships rather than my relationships?

I am not sure, I am still trying to figure this out but in the meantime, I am going to continue watching Gilmore Girls and hope they tell us whos baby it is...

parents
Like

About the Creator

for my mental health

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.