Families logo

Dear Father

A Letter to the Man Who Ruined Me

By Crysta MiraclePublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

Dear Father,

We might have always come as a package deal, but it wasn't a package I asked for. One that you accidentally order from amazon, realize it wasn't something you wanted, and ask for a refund. It was always about you, everything was always about you. It's bull that nobody remembers me. You don't remember the important days like my birthday, or the mere fact I requested the smallest and simplest present to begin with. I asked for my favorite meal with my family. Yet, you have a whole venue rented for your birthday that isn't for a whole month. All your friends get to come and spend that time with you. I sat at home, with no friends because you told me all my friends were terrible people and I didn't need to be around them. I sat at home and cried while you went to work and had an office party. I slept all night until you came home, hoping maybe you'd ask how my day was, but I got nothing but an attitude when you arrived home. I have sacrificed everything in order to make you happy, nonetheless you can't sacrifice 40 dollars in order to have a meal with your daughter and family; but have no issue dropping 40 on a meal for two. I'm tired of always coming in last. I'm always second to you and it should never be that way. As your child, I'm always supposed to come first. But nobody seems to think about me unless it's about you. None of my family associates with me because of you, but according to you you never did anything wrong. Your son hates you, all because you did nothing wrong. I was a liar because you beat me for years after mom died, but you did nothing wrong. I had to deliberately hide my identity, hide where I lived, and who I associated with because you did nothing wrong. I've given you ample times to redeem yourself, and this is the last straw. You start off the first few weeks OK, like you've made improvements. Then, as if a switch flicks off, move on like you didn't change a damn thing. I bite my tongue, and let you yell at me in rage and let you do what you have to do to release steam. But I've had enough, and honestly, I've told people the reason I tried to kill myself the first time was because I was getting bullied. But it wasn't just the bullying, it was the torment I came home to. And it may sound selfish, but you haven't given me a reason to be here. I have given up my entire life to try and make our relationship work. I've bitten my tongue to make it work, I've played the stupid game you know how to play so well. You are not who you claim to be behind closed doors. I've given my life to make our relationship work, after all you're the last parent I have. But honestly, once I get my life together, I'm leaving. I want nothing to do with you, and that's a serious notion to claim. But I mean it, once I don't have to deal with your game, I won't, and you'll lose the last child you had a chance with. I will never let another man treat me the way you have. I will not let another man tear me apart as you have, and I damn well refuse to let you be the downfall of me. I should have taken my brothers advice and gotten out when I could have. But because I was taught that being kind is the way I should be, I ruined my own life to make you happy. And to think, the thing that started this whole letter was the fact that you refused to spend any time with me for my birthday? It's funny how many years I've given up to make you happy, but you can't give up 45 minutes of your life for me.

You're the package deal I don't want to be a part of.

Sincerely,

Your only and last daughter.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Crysta Miracle

I speak from the heart, and hope that those around will take my words to heart, and help me in my growth of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.