Families logo

Bittersweet Tomorrows

Look to the future for hope

By marion scottPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

For those of you who have not read my previous articles, I had the scare of my life Christmas Eve- a possible breast cancer diagnosis. Tomorrow, I will be going in for my mammogram to check out the hard lumps which have grown at an alarmingly quick pace. Today I am feeling scared and worried, unable to anticipate the results of tomorrow. Throughout my life, one of the hardest lessons I have had to learn is letting go when I have no control over how something will turn out. In my search to connect with others who have experienced trauma or abuse in their lives, I have realized we all share many common characteristics, but the one that stands out the most is our inability to control the things around us and the affect it has on us. I have come to accept that I am unable to change the results of tomorrow-that is not something I control. What I can is to lean on those who will help me through it, whether I have a really long road fighting cancer, or it is simply a surgical procedure to fix the growth. I can make sure that my kids are provided for, with loving, caring people who will honor my wishes. I can surround myself with those who can help me or support us all through this, and draw a boundary for those who will not. In the past 2 weeks, I have come to find out who will truly be there to help me through this, the people who have shown up for me and been there. But I have also found the ones who will not, those who simply revealed how they truly feel towards my children and myself. I am not so worried about the diagnosis itself, as I know I could get through it-no matter how exhausting and daunting that particular journey may be. What has kept me awake with worry is one simple fact: How would it affect my children? With that, I decided to do everything I can-the things in my control- to make sure they have the best outcome possible (within my control). I no longer look at them wanting to cry because of the painful outcome that MAY be, but rather I hold on to them and make new memories, ones that will stand out and hold them up. We spend our days playing hide and seek, minecraft in real person time, Movie nights with mom (and all the fixings of course, which in our household includes pizza, twizzlers, and other snacks), and mattress surfing down the stairs. No matter the diagnosis tomorrow, I have realized that is what is truly the most important. Making new, beautiful memories with my children, that they will remember and carry with them. I should draw the distinction that with this, I have not thrown out the rules of my house that have always been there. Those remain in place, but I have simply made more time and been more involved with their playtime than I have recently. They are my rocks, my center in the universe that reassure me that everything in life will be alright. I can handle what comes our way. After all, I have survived much worse and so have they. Now it is our turn to be happy in life! That happiness is ours to seize, and develop, together. These beautiful gifts that I have been blessed with are the very reason I live and breathe. They are my everything! I know they will prove to be my strength tomorrow as well-no matter what I find out, I can get through it as long as I have them. Their beautiful smiles, the joy in their laughter, and seeing their faces when they say "I love you Mommy," throughout my day- these are the moments that design my road in life. This is true love at its finest. No love will ever be as strong or faithful as that of a mother and her child.

humanity

About the Creator

marion scott

I am a single mom and have a business I have slowly started working towards launching and successfully maintaining. I am 32 and I have 5 kids. I love writing and have over a dozen projects in the works at the moment. Check out my page!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    marion scottWritten by marion scott

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.